START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
 
 

Lisa Gordon

"Meet people with my passion and belief that one person can make a difference."

Rock Island, IL, USA
female, age 44
married
Writer/Horse Trainer/Sales
Speaks: Italian
Joined Nov 6, 2005
What I Want to Do:


 
Personal Professional Contact Singles
Joined Nov 6, 2005 Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic 
Here for Meeting Friends, Job Search, Professional Connections, Support a Cause 
Group Host of none yet
Groups none yet
Hometown Small Town, Illinois 
Homepage  
Birthday March 24, 1970  
Languages Italian  
About Me Strong willed. Will not back down. I do understand the politics of the game, lose many to win one. And be happy with the WIN! I'm honest, loyal, a true friend. I have not found many true friends. I want to be educated about many things going on in the world. I'm always searching for the TRUTH. I have trained and shown horses at the top levels. I believe there are changes that need to be made in the show industry. I have ideas on how to do it, but, need help. The animals suffer for their owner's profit and ability to call themselves a "winner." No one address's these issues. While the Thoroughbred industry is working hard to save their x-race horses, the Quarter and Paint Industries turn their heads at the problem. Send the horses to slaughter after a life of being enslaved. I USE to think that sounded ratical. Now, I understand the statement. My boss was great. They are still like family to me. Even though we're 5 hours apart. We had no horse abuse.
I have a deep passion for the sea creatures as well.
I will help anything in need.
I myself had open heart surgery a year ago to fix a childhood defect. I'm not well. Have to go to Mayo Clinic in 3 weeks. I'm side lined for now. But, I pray the day will come that I will be of use again.
For now, I sign every petition that comes my way. Being down, is VERY hard on me. It's shaken me to my core. Made me STOP and wonder what this life is all about.
I'm part American Indian, One Grandpa was full Italian, Dad WHITE from Arkansas. (We think OPPOSITE! And CLASH! Although, he's changed. Hasn't hunted in YEARS. I'm making progress there. My "relationship" with my dad has taught me that changing just ONE mind is HARD!) The battles we face, are much harder.
I am a writer. Wrote on the college newspaper for 3 years. I enter fiction contests now. I am working on a book. I would like to do free lance non-fiction. Expose some big time farms in the industry. But, no one will publish my articles. I would love to start my own magazine. I have no real idea what it would take. Anyone know?
I want the world to know, what those beautiful, intelligent animals go through to look and act so pretty. There is a way to show without using the torture methods. By changing a few of the show rules, it would make for a much more relaxed environment. Also, add some classes that are not as serious. Let people love their horses. I've thought of branching out, starting my own shows. I would eventually shut down the industry as we know it. People would ride again. And enjoy it. So would the animals.

I have no children. I'm not going to have any children. I plan to get a dog eventually. I rent now, so I can't.
I have 3 horses at my parent's 60 acre farm. One Thoroughbred Mare, 2 Arabians.
I have a niece and nephew. 2 sisters. Parent's still married.
I have a good life.
I have many goals to accomplish. And since this sickness that has baffled the local doctors...I have been VERY depressed. Some days unable to function. I don't understand this. It's so unlike me. I don't want to live like this. I want to be active, alive, assertive, helpful, volunteer, be excited about life and projects.
If anyone has been sick, through heart surgery, severe depression please write to me.
I NEED a friend!
I'm open minded. I have many gay friends. I like all PEOPLE that are kind. I am not vein, nor do I hang around vein people. I like style, nice things. But, I feel great out on the farm in my horse gear. I have my own style. I don't follow trends.
I set trends. (or use to anyway!)
My husband is great. He has been by my side during my healthiest times. When I could lift 400lbs. on the leg press. To now, I'm unable to walk some days due to pain in my joints or muscles....?
I never thought I'd find a man like that! Actually, I didn't. He found me!
I love MUSIC! From the 1950's era, Frank Sinatra, To Tupac Shakur, Olivia Newton-John (all time fave), Johnny Cash (Highwaymen-Johnny, Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Willie Nelson). George Strait, Disco, Madonna, Eminem (the songs with meaning), Mariah Carey. I like a large variety of music. Depends on my mood. I like music with a message.

Movies, Johnny Depp, Sally Field, Julia Roberts, Jennifer Anniston, Gweneth Paltrow, too many to list.
Series: Supranos, Sex and the City. I'm addicted to both!

I love to read. Especially decorating magazines. I want to try all the crafts or decorating ideas. Even when I fail...lol.
I refinish old furniture. Or I leave it as is and use it. Love the country look. It is an ongoing, never ending project.
I love art!
  Introduce yourself to Lisa
  Lifestyle
Pets Three Horses  
Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic
Political Leaning Liberal
Religions Christian - Catholic  
Eating Habits Keep it Healthy  
Wild Fact About Me I use to steal metal traps put in our creek to catch animals. I would hide them. I would get in trouble. But kept sneaking out at night to steal the traps. Finally, the guy stopped putting them on our land. Even though, he had my dad's permission.
My Philosophy "Brick by Brick My Friend, Brick by Brick."
What Gives Me Hope God. And good people. (Oprah, etc.,) Goodness in the world. People and animals true stories of come backs and triumphs.
If I were Mayor, I'd make the world a better place by Make a mandatory meeting every 6 months. This way everyone would get to know each other and exchange ideas. Learn to compromise.
If I were President, I'd stop the war. Let those people fight for their rights, like WE had to do. And our African Americans, American Indians have had to do. Although, North whites helped end slavery with civil war and udnerground railroad. I would help the homeless in the USA. I would give everyone education in the USA that wanted one. I would see to it that business's built HERE. Job security. I would PROTECT our National Parks. I would meet with other countries and explain to them why the rain forests are important. As well as the oceans and it's animals in it.
I would NOT allow Grizzly bears to be shot.
Too much to list.
If I were President, I'd do everything in my power to make world PEACE and HARMONY. I would try to negotiate. Ask people in countries that are unhappy if they'd like to relocate. There are plenty of lands that have low population. They could take their family, belongings and relocate. Let the evil people have their own place to rule.
What/who changed my life and why My Grandpa Summers. He would call me downstairs to watch Merlin Perkins every week. I learned a lot about the animals and extinction. Also Olivia Newton-John. I was 8 years old. Became a "fan." She was the second person that made me aware of animal rights.
What Bugs Me  
Passions  
Inspirations  
What Scares Me  
  Favorites
Role Models Robert Redford. Oprah. Pat Day ( retired, now minister). My husband, mother, sister(s), family. Courage to stick together, even when things are tough. We get throu  
Quotation "Brick by Brick My Friend, Brick by Brick."
Interests Horses, Books, Movies, Music, Animal and Human Rights, Horse Racing, Model Horses (Breyers), Decorating, Refinishing Furniture, finding deals. Remodeling homes for my d  
Books  
Music Depends on my mood. I like salsa, country, classic, rock, disco. All music has it's place  
Movies Dreamer, SeaBiscuit, Edward Scissorhands, Last of the Dogmen, Dances With Wolves, Bramstokers Dracula, Steel Magnolias, Best Friends Wedding, Hope Floats, Lampoons Christmas Vacation, Fast and Furious, Gone in 60 Seconds, Face Off, 8 Seconds, Bronco Billy  
TV Shows Supranos and Sex in the City. House, (new medical show w/Patrick Dempsey.)  
Favorite Foods Not much. I have stomach ulcers. Bland d, cheese cake, m&m cookies. Potatos, tomatos, FRUIT!  
Favorite Places HOME. Then, my last home which was Missouri. I'd lik, of course  
Can't Live Without God, Family, Animals, Car, Entertainment(movies, music, books)  
  Introduce yourself to Lisa
 
My Thank You Notes
Friends of Lisa
none yet

My Butterfly Rewards

Recent Activity


    I’ve earned Butterfly Credits
    Comment Board
    No comments yet. Add one!
    Kudos
    no testimonials yet
    Profile theme: "C2C Default"   |    as your profile theme
    Flag as Inappropriate