START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
 
 

Laurel R.

"Researching Organic and Sustainable Farming Technologies"

Marina, CA, USA
female, age 29
committed relationship
Speaks: french, English
Joined


 
Updating this finally!

Phew! Been years since I updated this section! Let's clear the cobwebs and straighten some things out!
Firstly, I don't think this spot is for blogging, which was apparently what I tried to use this for. Looks like it's more for handy links, shoutouts to people, etc. With that in mind, let's see what I've been up to, shall we?

First, I'm attending CSUMB, a university out in sunny California. There, I am technically a "Social and Behavioral Sciences" major with a concentration in "Social History" because they don't bloody well have a history degree. So. What am I actually studying? Currently I'm researching for my capstone, specifically looking at small farms in the Santa Cruz and Monterey counties. I do interviews with farmers, get their opinions and stories, and collect them, analyze them, and apply some loose theory to them. I look at modern theory about farming and ecological concerns, with particular attention to the organic and sustainable movements.

That takes up most of my time, really. While I'm doing that, I daydream about owning my own farm (along with my hubby and his friend) on a small property, and trying to live as self-sufficiently as possible. I'm interested in many different crafts, including knitting, basket-weaving, spinning, sewing, and some carpentry (furniture in particular). I don't plan to go completely off-grid (gotta get my internet from somewhere), and I plan to be even more politically active if possible. May have to, like, teach or something while we get it set up though.
Yeah. Teaching. Probably social studies or history or both. Would prefer to teach at the community college level, but I'm prepared to teach junior high and high school if necessary.

Well, looks like that's all from the home front here. More when I remember to update this!

 
Personal Professional Contact Singles
Introduce yourself to Laurel
  Home Contact Info
City Marina 
State/Province, Country CA, USA 
Home Page http://l-c-h-a-n.livejournal.com  
  Work Contact Info
Organization  
City  
State/Province, Country -, USA 
  Introduce yourself to Laurel
 
My Thank You Notes
Friends of Laurel

US V.

Shraddha T.

Tonny K.

Kn V.

Susie F.

View all: 5 friends
My Butterfly Rewards

Recent Activity


    I’ve earned Butterfly Credits
    Comment Board
    No comments yet. Add one!
    Kudos
    no testimonials yet
    Profile theme: "Nature: Grass"   |    as your profile theme
    Flag as Inappropriate