START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Oct 9, 2013

Coming Out Late is a new book about a pretty amazing subject. We are all used to the idea of teenagers coming out as gay to their parents, aren't we? Equally well, film stars and entertainers announcing they are lesbian or gay is commonplace too, but what if grandma was a lesbian? What if grandpa is gay? What if mom wants to marry another woman? How would you deal with an older person in your family coming out late? Would you give them the love and support they need to become who they really are? October 11th is National Coming Out Day and so it seems an appropriate time to consider why some people spend a lifetime in the closet. Even today, there are men and women who do their best for social or religious reasons to fit into a way of life that just does not work out for them emotionally. Coming Out Late tells the story of a woman who lived a straight lifestyle until her fifties. This is not all that unusual and is not confined to women. As you will see, there are some men who live a lifetime in denial. Reading this book will lead you into the writer's world of self discovery within the context of a loving and Christian family background. Antoinette Desiree Artot is not imprisoned by fundamentalist views, but she is nevertheless a prisoner of Christian conscience, traditional upbringing, conservative values and consequently the belief that any romantic (let alone sexual) attraction to her own sex was wicked. Artot details how she narrowly avoids suicide and self harming behaviour in her teens and comes through this youthful identity crisis into a series of heterosexual relationships - some good and some not so good - that last half a lifetime. All seems well, allowing for occasional crushes and confusion, until one day, now middle-aged, Antoinette is put into circumstances that make it impossible to deny her feelings. She becomes involved in a dangerous relationship at a very vulnerable time of her life and experiences a mental breakdown. Her breakdown is written about with frank honesty. Happily she discovers love and comes through this dark period stronger and happier. The book goes on to deal with practical issues around coming out as bisexual. (How could a lesbian have loved men?) It details her worry of coming out to a Christian father who turns out to be accepting and loving and changes in the relationship with her former partner who remains a loyal and supportive friend throughout this life changing identity crisis.

Imported from external blog


Visibility: Everyone
Posted: Wednesday October 9, 2013, 7:13 pm
Tags: music guitar poetry sheet publishing composer Sibelius tuition [add/edit tags]

Group Discussions
Comments
Or, log in with your
Facebook account:

Author

Lisa Gabriel
female , committed relationship, 10 children
Lincoln, United Kingdom
LISA'S SHARES
Nov
10
(0 comments  |  discussions )
A champagne stopper may be the very last thing you consider essential, but in our house we do. I love champagne, but I don\'t like it to go flat and when we enjoy our takeaway chinese and champagne nights once a week with mum it certainly gets used. So...
(0 comments  |  discussions )
The Cougar is a Gothic romance novel in the tradition of Mary Shelley or Edgar Allen Poe. I wrote it myself and recently published it on kindle for the first time. At present I am waiting for proof copies for the paperback version. Normally I write on...
Nov
1
(0 comments  |  discussions )
I am a frequent flyer between London and Vancouver and one thing I can guarantee as a nervous flyer is that I won\'t sleep on the flight. That is where a good book comes in and one of the very best was The Dalai Lama\'s Cat which rescued my sanity on th...
Oct
22
(0 comments  |  discussions )
Celtic Music is a huge influence on many musicians. I love Celtic Music and for many years I enjoyed singing and playing Celtic music in folk clubs. I had a couple of folk club gigs, but nothing major. This was before Celtic guitar music bounced into ...


SHARES FROM LISA'S NETWORK
Feb
18
by Barb K.
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\r\\nHello my C2 Family, \\r\\nFirst let me say Thank You to those of you who have so sweetly fwd my posts. You are SO AWESOME!! I will never forget your help. Anytime I can repay the favour, please tell me. Second, my Submit button has disappeared lea...
Jan
19
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\n \\\"Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.\\\"  (Matthew 5:5)Who are the meek?  I guess it depends who you ask, but I think the meaning implied in the passage above has somehow been lost over the years.  Perhaps t...
Jan
12
(0 comments  |  discussions )
  It is said that the eyes are the windows to the soul.  There is much to be said about this.  You can see emotion through the eyes, can you not?  You can often tell if a person is lying or not by looking into their eyes.  Wha...
Jan
11
(0 comments  |  discussions )
When we are born, we are aware of our spiritual self.  Actually, this is the part of ourselves with which we are most aware!  The body is new.  Wow!  Look at those fingers and toes!  As to the mental aspect of self, we were ha...
Jan
5
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\nI no longer choose to trust the medical system with caring for my health in any significant way.  If I need stitches or an emergency accident occurs.  But for my ongoing health care, no thank you.  I do not believe in their ways.\\nI o...


MORE MEMBER BLOGS
Mar 31
Blog: How to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers by Kayleigh L.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nHow to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers \\r\\n \\r\\nCorlis Engine Review\\r\\nEvery user desires to prolong the life of a unit. TRIAD assists their clients in achieving this important objective by informing them of ways they can avoid problems... more
Feb 27
Blog: Dr Oz Weight Loss - The 100% Natural And Very Efficient Diet Pill by Debra S.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nYes, Dr. Oz called Garcinia Cambogia Extract (HCA) the Holy Grail of Weight Loss. He went on to say, “Anytime I see a scientist get this excited about something like Garcinia Cambogia Extract and when I looked through some of this research and... more
Blog: My Favorite Websites by krysta I.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nIFAW: www.ifaw.org\\r\\nOCEANA www.oceana.org\\r\\nPETA: www.peta.org\\r\\nEARTH 911: www.earth911.org\\r\\nANI MALs ASIA: www.animalsasia.org\\r\\n \\r\\n\\r\\n\\n more
Feb 21
Blog: testing one two three by Geoff M.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — hello world more
Blog: Garcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20 by Dany M.
(0 comments  |  0 discussions ) — \\nGarcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20\\r\\nGarcinia Cambogia System The Dr. Oz Lose Weight Quick Process Without Having Side Effects\\r\\nHe went on to say, “At any time I see a researcher... more
 
Content and comments expressed here are the opinions of Care2 users and not necessarily that of Care2.com or its affiliates.