START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Nov 1, 2013

I am a frequent flyer between London and Vancouver and one thing I can guarantee as a nervous flyer is that I won't sleep on the flight. That is where a good book comes in and one of the very best was The Dalai Lama's Cat which rescued my sanity on the flight last year. Remembering how I easily frightened myself at 37000 feet with The DaVinci Code then many months later I was weirded out by The Lovely Bones, I looked in the bookstore at Heathrow. So many books, so many promotions.... Eventually I decided to take advantage of an offer and buy two. Now the first choice was 50 Shades of Grey simply because I wanted to know what all the fuss was about, but then I spotted this beautiful cover "The Dalai Lama's Cat". Now I have to say, had I only been allowed one book, 50 Shades of Gray would have gone back on the shelf. Once a cat gets her claws in me, there is no putting it back, but I was allowed two, so I bought them both. Besides which, I live with a Buddhist who also worships cats, so what choice did I have? Now you might guess that 50 Shades was first on my reading list? Wrong! It would wait. There was a cat story to be had. I started in the departure lounge because I had a long wait and by the time we landed in Vancouver I had read from cover to cover. I don't want to spoil the story by giving away too much, except to say that this is a delightful tale about a very sweet little Himalayan cat who is rescued from almost certain death by the Dalai Lama. The terrified kitten is brought back to the monastery where she becomes a cherished member of the household. During the course of her adventures, we discover much about compassion as the Dalai Lama's Cat reveals her new Buddhist insights from a kitty's point of view. It has some surprises along the way too.... Now having read this charming book on the plane, I insisted my friend in Canada should read it and she loved it too, then bringing back to England for Colin to enjoy. So discovering David Michie's book is part of a series has me planning to restock my slowly depleting bookshelves. The only question is, do I wait until I next fly to Vancouver....

Imported from external blog


Visibility: Everyone
Posted: Friday November 1, 2013, 5:17 pm
Tags: music guitar poetry sheet publishing composer Sibelius tuition [add/edit tags]

Group Discussions
Comments
Or, log in with your
Facebook account:

Author

Lisa Gabriel
female , committed relationship, 10 children
Lincoln, United Kingdom
LISA'S SHARES
Nov
10
(0 comments  |  discussions )
A champagne stopper may be the very last thing you consider essential, but in our house we do. I love champagne, but I don\'t like it to go flat and when we enjoy our takeaway chinese and champagne nights once a week with mum it certainly gets used. So...
(0 comments  |  discussions )
The Cougar is a Gothic romance novel in the tradition of Mary Shelley or Edgar Allen Poe. I wrote it myself and recently published it on kindle for the first time. At present I am waiting for proof copies for the paperback version. Normally I write on...
Oct
22
(0 comments  |  discussions )
Celtic Music is a huge influence on many musicians. I love Celtic Music and for many years I enjoyed singing and playing Celtic music in folk clubs. I had a couple of folk club gigs, but nothing major. This was before Celtic guitar music bounced into ...


SHARES FROM LISA'S NETWORK
Feb
18
by Barb K.
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\r\\nHello my C2 Family, \\r\\nFirst let me say Thank You to those of you who have so sweetly fwd my posts. You are SO AWESOME!! I will never forget your help. Anytime I can repay the favour, please tell me. Second, my Submit button has disappeared lea...
Jan
19
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\n \\\"Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.\\\"  (Matthew 5:5)Who are the meek?  I guess it depends who you ask, but I think the meaning implied in the passage above has somehow been lost over the years.  Perhaps t...
Jan
12
(0 comments  |  discussions )
  It is said that the eyes are the windows to the soul.  There is much to be said about this.  You can see emotion through the eyes, can you not?  You can often tell if a person is lying or not by looking into their eyes.  Wha...
Jan
11
(0 comments  |  discussions )
When we are born, we are aware of our spiritual self.  Actually, this is the part of ourselves with which we are most aware!  The body is new.  Wow!  Look at those fingers and toes!  As to the mental aspect of self, we were ha...
Jan
5
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\nI no longer choose to trust the medical system with caring for my health in any significant way.  If I need stitches or an emergency accident occurs.  But for my ongoing health care, no thank you.  I do not believe in their ways.\\nI o...


MORE MEMBER BLOGS
Mar 31
Blog: How to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers by Kayleigh L.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nHow to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers \\r\\n \\r\\nCorlis Engine Review\\r\\nEvery user desires to prolong the life of a unit. TRIAD assists their clients in achieving this important objective by informing them of ways they can avoid problems... more
Feb 27
Blog: Dr Oz Weight Loss - The 100% Natural And Very Efficient Diet Pill by Debra S.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nYes, Dr. Oz called Garcinia Cambogia Extract (HCA) the Holy Grail of Weight Loss. He went on to say, “Anytime I see a scientist get this excited about something like Garcinia Cambogia Extract and when I looked through some of this research and... more
Blog: My Favorite Websites by krysta I.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nIFAW: www.ifaw.org\\r\\nOCEANA www.oceana.org\\r\\nPETA: www.peta.org\\r\\nEARTH 911: www.earth911.org\\r\\nANI MALs ASIA: www.animalsasia.org\\r\\n \\r\\n\\r\\n\\n more
Feb 21
Blog: testing one two three by Geoff M.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — hello world more
Blog: Garcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20 by Dany M.
(0 comments  |  0 discussions ) — \\nGarcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20\\r\\nGarcinia Cambogia System The Dr. Oz Lose Weight Quick Process Without Having Side Effects\\r\\nHe went on to say, “At any time I see a researcher... more
 
Content and comments expressed here are the opinions of Care2 users and not necessarily that of Care2.com or its affiliates.