START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Nov 10, 2013

The Cougar is a Gothic romance novel in the tradition of Mary Shelley or Edgar Allen Poe. I wrote it myself and recently published it on kindle for the first time. At present I am waiting for proof copies for the paperback version. Normally I write on musical subjects and I also love to write poetry, so the world of fiction is a new thing for me. What I wanted to do here was to share my love and enthusiasm for British Columbia and its beautiful scenery in the context of a fun book. It is a novel for adults because of its subject matter, it is not pornographic but it is sexually explicit in places. These scenes are essential to the story in a way that the scenes in Lady Chatterley's Lover are but they are not the be all and end all of the tale. When I wrote this, it was in the context of four decades or reading horror fiction and watching horror movies and my vampires are different. They are not evil killers, nor do they have to kill to survive, but there are some scenes of violence obviously. What I wanted to do here was to tell a different story, to pose some moral questions in a light hearted way and though I hope this is a tale that can be enjoyed without deep thought or struggling with deep concepts it does ask some questions about self-acceptance. For instance, coming out is always hard. As Ash Beckham so eloquently says, there is no harder - there is only hard - and the closet is no place to live. Whether the closet is telling someone you love that you are gay, bankrupt, pregnant, suffering from cancer or even - as in Raffaelo's case - that you are a vampire you are still better out than in. In this novel the characters all have their own closet. Owen can't commit to one woman and doesn't want children, Angela is bisexual and Owen's abuse brings her out of denial, Berenice is over five hundred years old and still in mourning for her dead husband, Ingrid is a transexual woman on the rebound from an unhappy break-up with her ex, Raffaelo is a vampire pretending to be a normal man and these secrets hang heavily between the characters as the story flits from Renaissance Italy to modern British Columbia. Finally, as a poet I wanted to describe some of the things I know and find beautiful in this world. My hope is to have written a story that is certainly dark but is not sickeningly horrific. One that has an ending that will leave more questions in your mind. A tale that adults can enjoy however they identify.... A big ask? Only the reader can tell me. It is available to borrow free if you are an Amazon Prime member or to buy if you prefer.

Imported from external blog


Visibility: Everyone
Posted: Sunday November 10, 2013, 8:20 am
Tags: music guitar poetry sheet publishing composer Sibelius tuition [add/edit tags]

Group Discussions
Comments
Or, log in with your
Facebook account:

Author

Lisa Gabriel
female , committed relationship, 10 children
Lincoln, United Kingdom
LISA'S SHARES
Nov
10
(0 comments  |  discussions )
A champagne stopper may be the very last thing you consider essential, but in our house we do. I love champagne, but I don\'t like it to go flat and when we enjoy our takeaway chinese and champagne nights once a week with mum it certainly gets used. So...
Nov
1
(0 comments  |  discussions )
I am a frequent flyer between London and Vancouver and one thing I can guarantee as a nervous flyer is that I won\'t sleep on the flight. That is where a good book comes in and one of the very best was The Dalai Lama\'s Cat which rescued my sanity on th...
Oct
22
(0 comments  |  discussions )
Celtic Music is a huge influence on many musicians. I love Celtic Music and for many years I enjoyed singing and playing Celtic music in folk clubs. I had a couple of folk club gigs, but nothing major. This was before Celtic guitar music bounced into ...


SHARES FROM LISA'S NETWORK
Feb
18
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\r\\nHello my C2 Family, \\r\\nFirst let me say Thank You to those of you who have so sweetly fwd my posts. You are SO AWESOME!! I will never forget your help. Anytime I can repay the favour, please tell me. Second, my Submit button has disappeared lea...
Jan
19
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\n\\n \\\"Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.\\\"  (Matthew 5:5)Who are the meek?  I guess it depends who you ask, but I think the meaning implied in the passage above has somehow been lost over the years.  Perhaps t...
Jan
12
(0 comments  |  discussions )
  It is said that the eyes are the windows to the soul.  There is much to be said about this.  You can see emotion through the eyes, can you not?  You can often tell if a person is lying or not by looking into their eyes.  Wha...
Jan
11
(0 comments  |  discussions )
When we are born, we are aware of our spiritual self.  Actually, this is the part of ourselves with which we are most aware!  The body is new.  Wow!  Look at those fingers and toes!  As to the mental aspect of self, we were ha...
Jan
5
(0 comments  |  discussions )
\\nI no longer choose to trust the medical system with caring for my health in any significant way.  If I need stitches or an emergency accident occurs.  But for my ongoing health care, no thank you.  I do not believe in their ways.\\nI o...


MORE MEMBER BLOGS
Mar 31
Blog: How to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers by Kayleigh L.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nHow to Extend the Life of your TRIAD Boilers \\r\\n \\r\\nCorlis Engine Review\\r\\nEvery user desires to prolong the life of a unit. TRIAD assists their clients in achieving this important objective by informing them of ways they can avoid problems... more
Feb 27
Blog: Dr Oz Weight Loss - The 100% Natural And Very Efficient Diet Pill by Debra S.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nYes, Dr. Oz called Garcinia Cambogia Extract (HCA) the Holy Grail of Weight Loss. He went on to say, “Anytime I see a scientist get this excited about something like Garcinia Cambogia Extract and when I looked through some of this research and... more
Blog: My Favorite Websites by krysta I.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — \\nIFAW: www.ifaw.org\\r\\nOCEANA www.oceana.org\\r\\nPETA: www.peta.org\\r\\nEARTH 911: www.earth911.org\\r\\nANI MALs ASIA: www.animalsasia.org\\r\\n \\r\\n\\r\\n\\n more
Feb 21
Blog: testing one two three by Geoff M.
(0 comments  |  discussions ) — hello world more
Blog: Garcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20 by Dany M.
(0 comments  |  0 discussions ) — \\nGarcinia Cambogia Reviews From Actual People Garcinia Pure Extract Is A Huge Success February 20\\r\\nGarcinia Cambogia System The Dr. Oz Lose Weight Quick Process Without Having Side Effects\\r\\nHe went on to say, “At any time I see a researcher... more
 
Content and comments expressed here are the opinions of Care2 users and not necessarily that of Care2.com or its affiliates.