START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x

The Dragonfly Effect: Review and Giveaway [Video]

The Dragonfly Effect: Review and Giveaway [Video]

This article originally appeared on ChrisBrogan.com and is republished here with permission.

I’m a big fan of Jennifer Aaker and Andy Smith’s book The Dragonfly Effect: Quick, Effective, and Powerful Ways To Use Social Media to Drive Social Change. It’s not only a book about social change, but it’s a book about understanding the formula for how to use web tools to build marketing value. It’s only extra awesome because it helps the social cause moment.

Aaker works down the hall from Chip Heath (Made to Stick, Switch – wait, did I call him Chip Heath or Chip Kidd in my video? You tell me!), and in a way, it shows. Dragonfly Effect has a great memorability factor and a formula that you want to absorb and apply to your own projects. Check out my review.

This book goes into my top 10 for 2010 as far as marketing books that actually teach you something. I really recommend Dragonfly Effect. Let me know what you think of it.

WIN THE BOOK! Enter a comment below and you will automatically be entered to win a copy of The Dragonfly Effect. Winner will be announced December 14. Good luck!

Read more: , , , , ,

Photo credit: The Dragonfly Effect
By Chris Brogan

have you shared this story yet?

some of the best people we know are doing it

100 comments

+ add your own
11:29AM PST on Dec 19, 2010

Thanks.

5:11AM PST on Dec 18, 2010

Noted!!

10:50AM PST on Dec 7, 2010

Thanks for posting, sounds like an interesting book, might buy it, haven't decided yet.

8:47AM PST on Dec 6, 2010

sounds very interesting..................

3:02AM PST on Dec 6, 2010

This sounds like an amazing book! I'd never heard of it before (thanks for introducing), but I completely agree that web tools are a great way to spread awareness and promote social change. As a high school student, I always try to make use of websites such as Facebook or Tumblr to advocate causes I truly care about, by posting links/articles, asking people to sign petitions or inviting them to causes that I am organizing in my school. I think that this is a great way to spread the word because the web is so universal and word spreads amazingly quickly--in both good ways and bad--and it's crucial to oversee that the benefits outweigh the harm of such an innovative tool. May the future of our society be bright--in both the real and virtual worlds!

9:14PM PST on Dec 2, 2010

I would like to win a copy of this book.... o_o

12:59PM PST on Dec 1, 2010

GOSH I LOVE THIS IDEA. EVERYWHERE I LOOK THE EXCELLORATION OF INTERCONNECTEDNESS IS FOURISHING AND I SEE THIS BOOK AS PROOF OF THE EVOLUTIONARY WAVE OUR CONSCIOUSNESS IS GOING THROUGH RIGHT NOW. YES. . . WE NEED PRACTICAL HOW TO'S TO CREATE A SUSTAINABLE FUTURE
THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR GOOD WORK AND THAT YOU CALLED IT DRAGONFLY EFFECT. THE TITLE CALLS THOSE WHO NEED TO REMEMBER WHAT THAT MEANS. I FEEL A CERTAIN JOY TO BE ADDRESSED THIS WAY.
FELICIA

12:28PM PST on Nov 30, 2010

Noted. Thanks.

10:09PM PST on Nov 29, 2010

This sounds interesting for those of us who are or who wish to be involed with non-profit work.

6:10AM PST on Nov 29, 2010

I work as a volenteer for a nonprofit organization this book seams to be a must have. Hope to win this splendid competition.

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

Care2 - Be Extraordinary - Start a Care2 Petition
ads keep care2 free
CONTACT THE EDITORS

Recent Comments from Causes

At least they are pretty colors.

Oh yes Steve F., I am sure the liberals of the world hang on your every word and opinion of us. Lol,…

Great idea; gotta do what we can, to take care of our little feathered friends...

meet our writers

Kathleen J. Kathleen is currently the Activism Coordinator at Care2. more
ads keep care2 free



Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.