START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
1,271,026 people care about Politics

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Asks SCOTUS To Review Obamacare

U.S. Chamber of Commerce Asks SCOTUS To Review Obamacare

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce became the latest group urging the Supreme Court to review President Obama’s health care overhaul. But unlike the other challenges, the chamber refused to take a position on the constitutionality of the law, arguing instead that what the court should do is decide if health care reform can survive at all should the court find the individual mandate unconstitutional.

The Supreme Court could decide as early as Nov. 10 whether it will take up review of the law this term. Should the court decide to take the case up during the November term it would likely announce that decision on November 14th.

A Supreme Court review of the Affordable Care Act is not an “if” proposition but a “when” proposition. When the court decides to hear the case it will need to decide whether to review one of the six pending requests for review or consolidate those cases.

The justices will also need to decide who will hear the review. Challenges to Justice Elana Kagan hearing a review have already been defeated, and Justice Thomas remains resolute that he will hear a review despite the fact that his wife was a lobbyist against the bill. No matter when review does happen it is sure to be a political lightening rod for those already frustrated with the direction and lack of transparency by the court. And that means that any decision, absent unanimity, will be seen as a political decision more so than a legal one.

Related Stories:

Women Have Lives On The Line With Health Care Reform

Montana Shoots For Universal Single Payer Health Coverage

Read more: , , ,

Photo from e-MagazineArt.com via flickr.

have you shared this story yet?

some of the best people we know are doing it

29 comments

+ add your own
8:24PM PDT on Oct 30, 2011

Well said, Stanley...what kind of country, indeed, is run by the 1%....US!

2:30PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

The US Chamber of Koch Commerce is committed to using it's pseudo respectable image to influence an outcome to dismantle the Affordable Care Act. Obama dedicated the first year of his term as President to provide the American society with humane access to health care in line with most other developed nations. This was because his mother died due to a lack of medical care when her Insurance Company would not cover her treatment when she changed jobs, citing her illness a "pre-existing" condition. He campaigned passionately on this promise he would fulfill if he were to be elected. Now the Repugliscums want to destroy this humane law serving the 99% What kind of country have we become when the twisted minds of a tiny minority can determine the best interest of the population?

2:24PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

LOL, DianeO and JoeS. Wouldn't it be funny if you both became in need of big-time medical aid and your insurance turns you down and you can't be covered. Now THAT'S a funny scenario, isn't it? Or maybe THEN, "Obamacare" wouldn't look so bad, eh wot? Be careful what you wish for. Life plays funny tricks on people. Who then would have the last laugh? Hypocrites all these Fox, Limbaugh, Norquist, Rove puppets. For sure, THEY all have the BEST insurance policies EVER! Like what President Obama initially wanted for all Americans, Single Payer, Public Option....otherwise known as Obama's Health Care Bill - DEFEATED by tbagger-republicans.
Vote Democrat straightaway

2:20PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

Firstly Healthcare is a misnomer. What we all get is sickness care. No one in the medical industry wants us to b e healthy , that makes no money. , They do care very much about making sure people get sick and remain that way. Hence the killer medical drugs and metabolism destroying vaccines , pumping the most toxic adjuvants and additives into people who don't have the common sense to realise they are being primed for ongoing chronic disease and a premature death. How it is possible for people to be so indoctrinated to fall for the medical fraudsters scams that convinces them that it is good for their health. Those who do must in some way be mentally defective. Undoctrination is required.

1:25PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

Paying out of pocket for insurance issues will easily bankrupt you unless you are rich, and 99% of people are not rich.

All forms of insurance are socialized to try to offset personal costs, and thus make insurance affordable for everyone.

The more people that are on an insurance plan the cheaper the premiums/copays will be, and the more widely it will be accepted.

By socializing the cost in this manner no one person is responsible for the entire cost of insurance related claims.

All healthcare works this way including government health care which is what the Obama administration wants to put everyone on.

Vote Democrat if you want cheaper/better healthcare.

12:47PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

The Chamber of Commerce is doing the right thing. You cannot allow the PRIVILEGE of health care for people who need it to interfere with the RIGHT of health care insurance corporations to get higher profits.

Ebenezer Scrooge said it best about the poor, "Let them die and reduce the surplus population."

And while we are at it, what is this nonsense about equal access to education. Good grief! If you let the poor be educated, you rob profitable transnational corporations of a cheap source of labour.

And pensions! What a silly idea! If people had not spent money on their family needs and providing for their children whom they could have sent out to work as young as 6 years old, they would have money for retirement.

Seriously, the fact is that American society (Canada and United States) is becoming very selfish. A tax cut and high incomes for those who have has become more important than our common welfare and basic human compassion. This has led to the collapse of many great empires.

12:22PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

"Obamacare" is a derisive term coined by the Republicans and Tea Partyers who would take every opportunity to insult or otherwise diminish our President. The name of the legislation is "The Affordable Care Act". And, yes, the insurance companies and drug companies will make out like bandits here, but who else is there to do the insuring or supplying of drugs? I suppose we could give the Government these responsibilities, but I'll wager the din would be deafening against Single Payer Medicine. The fact of the matter is that we Americans cannot afford the type of medicine we demand. So the choice is to bankrupt our system or try to find something which will be beneficial to as many people as possible. The Affordable Care Act is that attempt. As a physician, it is so painful to see patient after patient with illnesses they cannot afford to get treated, as they are among the millions of Americans without health insurance.

12:04PM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

What did you say Rebecca? Obama named the bill after himself??? Are you ignorant or just stupid?

11:57AM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

The Health Care Reform Bill needs to be expanded to Single Payer. Health Care has no place in private insurance companies. Private insurance is nothing more than a middle man which takes our health care dollars and puts it in the pockets of insurance executives. They get million dollar bonuses and don't cure or care for one single patient. There was a time when insurance companies were not in the middle of health care, they just slowly wormed their way in. Time for them to get out.

11:10AM PDT on Oct 27, 2011

I agree with you Yvonne. We double/triple pay on the drugs sold in the United States. First we subsidize the cost of reseach, then we subsidize the cost of clinical trails, then we subsidize the cost for those who can not afford the drugs world wide. But the question before the Supreme court has nothing to do with the price of drugs it has to do with the legality of our government to insist that we purchase a health care policy. Soley a pro business law. If they wanted to address the cost of health care they would of voted in a Universal Health Care and then took on the industry. As it is now no one can afford health care even if your lucky enough to have a job that offers health care and this law will not address the underlying problem of cost of services.

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

ads keep care2 free

Recent Comments from Causes

According to Fouts, it's okay for Christians to be "disparaging" to atheists but not visa versa. Otherwise…

I just bought a cargo bike so I could start doing more errands by bike. Now I can buy dog and cat food…

meet our writers

Colleen H. Colleen H. is an Online Campaigner with Care2 and a recent transplant to San Francisco from the East... more
Story idea? Want to blog? Contact the editors!
ads keep care2 free

more from causes

Animal Welfare

Causes Canada

Causes UK

Children

Civil Rights

Education

Endangered Wildlife

Environment & Wildlife

Global Development

Global Warming

Health Policy

Human Rights

LGBT rights

Politics

Real Food

Trailblazers For Good

Women's Rights




Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.