USDA Releases Final Rule to Privatize Poultry Inspection

This post originally appeared on EcoWatch.

This week, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) released theáfinal rule on a new inspection system for poultry products. The system will transfer a majority of poultry inspections from government inspectors to self-policing by the companies themselves.

While Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack said the new system “places our trained inspectors where they can better ensure food is being processed safely,”áFood & Water Watch Executive DirectoráWenonah Hauter counters that “the one USDA inspector left on the slaughter line under this new rule will still have to inspect 2.33 birds every secondľan impossible task that leaves consumers at risk.”

The new regulations were first proposed in January 2012 but delayed after receiving strong opposition from animal welfare groups, consumer organizations and worker safety advocates. In 2013 the Government Accountability Office released aáscathing analysis, questioning whether USDA had sufficient data to make such radical changes.

USDA received more than 175,000 public comments, mostly opposed to the proposal. There have also been petitions andáseveral congressional letters sent to USDA and the White Houseáurging the withdrawal of the rule.

“The fast turnaround on this rule does a disservice to consumers and workers in poultry plants,” said Hauter. “Rather than making the contents of a revised rule public and creating a new comment period, the USDA and the White House are making a dramatic change to how poultry is inspected based on incomplete data and limited public review.”

Groups express concern that the deregulation of poultry processing will lead to theádismantling of the meat inspection system as we know.

Photo Credit: Thinkstock

153 comments

Jim Ven
Jim Ven3 months ago

thanks for the article.

Joseph Glackin
Joseph Glackinabout a year ago

HEN HOUSE!

mea typo.

Joseph Glackin
Joseph Glackinabout a year ago

So now the fox watches the he house?

What could POSSIBLY GO WRONG?

Jim Ven
Jim Venabout a year ago

thanks for the article.

Anne P.
Anne P.2 years ago

Folks, this is really bad. Industry policing itself? Yeah, sure (rolling eyes). We've seen how well that works. And let's not forget the poor chickens who will be more tortured and abused than ever. Boycott the whole ugly system and adopt an organic plant-based diet. It's the only way to protect yourself and your family. There is power in your fork - use it!

Angela Roquemore
Angela Roquemore2 years ago

Dale O.: You can't.

Ron G.
Ron A G.2 years ago

I can understand the using of food as exports over fossil fuels. Oil is disastrous as a product when cleaner and safer alternatives are available to be used by everyone. Coal is a losing project, sorry coal miners, since the main customer China for coal or oil or food is changing. Coal use will be converted by the year 2020 per the Chinese as example. They have over built construction of high rise buildings by the city and not just one or two. Those mass amount of building high rises are empty. Think in this country of the empty buildings going unused. Power sources to run those buildings will not be needed. In other words, China is in a bubble of economic woes. Who will buy all our fossil fuels that we destroy OUR lands to provide. We can use this for farming, proper farming, of ALL foods and animals. If we step back and take a look at all things, everybody destroys for greed, and at the risk of human life and lives. On food, nobody segregates food going for consumption here or elsewhere. We get what they get, or it will be more and more that way. They must be stopped now.

JACarlton Author
jill c.2 years ago

time for me to finish the shift to a whole food plant based diet, I wouldn't trust the industry to police itself as far as I could throw an entire factory farm... I'd rather risk my health with doritos.

Joy Mcronald
Joy McRonald2 years ago

Thank you for sharing..

Janis K.
Janis K.2 years ago

Thanks for sharing.