Vegetarian…Wine?

Wait…vegetarian wine? But wine is made of grapes! True, but like white sugar, wine can go through some processing that involves animal products. With wine, the troublesome ingredients come into play during the “finishing,” or the steps that stop the fermentation. The animal-based fining agents are:

  • casein – a milk protein
  • isinglass – made from fish bladders
  • gelatin – made from cow bones
  • animal albumin – egg whites and sometimes dried blood powder

Not all wines even require fining, and there are vegetarian clarifying options, like bentonite clay. Luckily, there are loads of companies that keep the animal products out of the finishing process. Here is a great list for tracking down a vegetarian bottle!

Of course, if you want to be really certain that wine is animal free, you can always make your own bottle.

Green Options Media is a network of environmentally-focused blogs providing users with the information needed to make sustainable choices. Written by experienced professionals, Green Options Media’s blogs engage visitors with authoritative content, compelling discussions, and actionable advice. We invite anyone with questions, or simply curiosity, to add their voices to the community, and share their approaches to achieving abundance.

By Becky Striepe, Green Options

25 comments

Elizabeth Brawn
Elizabeth Brawn2 years ago

thanks

Alexandra Ekdahl
Alexandra Ekdahl2 years ago

thanks for sharing... Veg wine?

Michele Wilkinson

Thank you

Elena T.
Elena Poensgen3 years ago

Thank you for sharing :)

Donna Hamilton
Donna Hamilton4 years ago

Thanks.

Danuta Watola
Danuta Watola4 years ago

Intresting post.

Aditya Narayan
Aditya n.4 years ago

THANKS

Sue Matheson
Sue Matheson4 years ago

thanks

Nirvana Jaganath
Nirvana Jaganath4 years ago

WTF! I didn't know some wines weren't vegetarian!!

Mindy R.
Mindy R.4 years ago

Check out Barnivore! I can't wait for their iPhone app. No this isn't advertising, I love these guys!

M
http://www.barnivore.com/#