START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good

What Are Chakras?

What Are Chakras?

The first time I really understood the chakra was when every time I got into a specific yoga pose I always felt grief for my father. I realized that I “held” the energy of that grief in one place in my body. Since then I have come to know that chakras are emotional and spiritual vortex-like energy centers in our bodies where we hold memories of trauma and beliefs.

There are seven main chakras, and each one holds a special focus for your emotional health, healing, and spiritual growth. Read about each one, here:

Note that visualizing the color associated with each chakra can bring healing.

The First Chakra
Located at the bottom of the spine
Place of survival, safety, connection to the earth
Associated color: Red.

The Second Chakra
Located a few inches below the belly button
The dwelling place of the self, and place of emotions, feelings, needs, and sexuality
Associated color: Orange

The Third Chakra
Located in the solar plexus
The place of self-esteem, personal power, and self-knowledge
Associated color: Yellow

The Fourth Chakra
Located in the center of the chest, and known as the heart chakra
The seat of love, the heart, and nurturance
Associated color: Green

The Fifth Chakra
Located at the throat
Communication, self-expression
Associated color: Blue

The Sixth Chakra
Known as the “third eye,” located in the brow
The center of wisdom, seeing truth, thought, seeing the light
Associated color: Indigo

The Seventh Chakra
At the crown of the head
The place of knowing, bliss, divinity
Associated color: Violet

Read more: Spirit, Guidance, Self-Help

By Annie B. Bond

have you shared this story yet?

go ahead, give it a little love

Annie B. Bond

Annie is a renowned expert in non-toxic and green living. She was named one of the top 20 environmental leaders by Body and Soul Magazine and "the foremost expert on green living." - Body & Soul Magazine, 2009. Learn Annie's latest eco-friendly news on, a website dedicated to healthy and green living.

Go to the Source

Home Enlightenment

Annie B. Bond is the author of this book filled with practical, earth-friendly advice for creating a nurturing, healthy, and toxin-free home and now


+ add your own
4:49AM PDT on Apr 9, 2013

Great article. Thanks for sharing.

2:44AM PDT on Oct 10, 2012

thanks for sharing

12:09PM PDT on Sep 29, 2012


12:53AM PDT on Jul 25, 2012

Thanks for the post!

7:44PM PDT on Jul 20, 2012

thanks. I am unclear as to use his info however.

2:01AM PDT on Jul 20, 2012


7:34PM PDT on Jul 19, 2012

Chakras are simply energy points in the body. That are extremely powerful

9:29AM PST on Jan 11, 2012

Thank you.

11:11AM PDT on Oct 5, 2011


2:49AM PDT on Sep 5, 2011


add your comment

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

people are talking

Last time I was stung it was by a hornet or a wasp; not sure how to tell the difference. They make …

Never had one, thankfully:)

How would you make the light bulb stand up?? Also, the teacup has no drainage so you'd need to be ca…

There's no such thing as a 9-5 job for a salaried employee. The salary and benefits may be a sweet d…


Select names from your address book   |   Help

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.

site feedback


Problem on this page? Briefly let us know what isn't working for you and we'll try to make it right!