START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good

Your Chakra Colors and What They Do

Your Chakra Colors and What They Do

For millennia, eight colors have been thought to correspond to energy centers in the body. Wearing or surrounding yourself with these colors leads to balance and inner healing. For example, if you want to open your heart, there is a color that corresponds to the heart that will help. If you need to speak your truth to someone, you can wear a throat-chakra-colored scarf for encouragement. Find out about the chakra colors and what they do.

Red – First chakra, base of the spine. Groundedness, trust, belonging, lessens feelings of mistrust.

Orange – Second chakra, belly just below the navel. Sensuality, emotion, creativity, lessens feelings of inferiority.

Yellow – Third chakra, solar plexus. Will, identity, commitment, lessens feelings of confusion.

Green – Fourth chakra, heart. Compassion, forgiveness, intimacy, lessens feelings of isolation.

Blue – Fifth chakra, throat. Expression, communication, power to manifest, generativity, lessens feelings of stagnation.

Indigo – Sixth chakra, third eye, between the eyes. Clear sight, intuition, integrity, lessens feelings of despair.

Violet – Seventh chakra, crown, top of the head. Spiritual connection, mastery, lessens feelings of distraction.

White – Eighth chakra, just above the head. Radiance, expansion, lessens feelings of limiting attachment.

Read more: Spirit, Guidance, Self-Help, , , ,

Adapted from The Chakras in Shamanic Practice, by Susan J. Wright (Inner Traditions, 2007). Copyright (c) 2007 by Susan J. Wright. Reprinted by permission of Inner Traditions.
Adapted from The Chakras in Shamanic Practice, by Susan J. Wright (Inner Traditions, 2007).

have you shared this story yet?

go ahead, give it a little love

Annie B. Bond

Annie is a renowned expert in non-toxic and green living. She was named one of the top 20 environmental leaders by Body and Soul Magazine and "the foremost expert on green living." - Body & Soul Magazine, 2009. Learn Annie's latest eco-friendly news on, a website dedicated to healthy and green living.

Go to the Source

The Chakras in Shamanic Practice

Eight stages of healing and now


+ add your own
6:39PM PST on Feb 17, 2013

Thanks, Annie :)

2:39PM PST on Nov 15, 2012

Thank you for sharing.

2:39AM PDT on Oct 24, 2012


12:27AM PDT on Oct 9, 2012

Colours make life

11:54AM PDT on Sep 29, 2012


2:34AM PDT on Sep 4, 2012

Thank you

5:57PM PDT on Aug 21, 2012

I was unaware of the 8th one. white. I always thought there were 7. thanks

1:26PM PDT on May 29, 2012

Very useful!
Power of colours can heal or can bring you down.
Life hase sprung up from light so all we are deeply connected with it.
Thank you for this oasis in the desert of internet information.

7:08AM PDT on Apr 29, 2012

lovely reminder.....thank you

6:18PM PDT on Apr 5, 2012

Fascinating and intriguing.

add your comment

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.


Select names from your address book   |   Help

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.

site feedback


Problem on this page? Briefly let us know what isn't working for you and we'll try to make it right!