START A PETITION27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
Tell A Friend

A 10-year-old started one of the recent massive fires in Southern California while playing with matches. What should be done?

(CLOSED)
Poll Results: 902 votes
42%
Simply counsel the child.
 
21%
Prosecute the family.
 
16%
Other
 
16%
Prosecute the child.
 
5%
Do nothing -- he's 10 years old!
 

Why? What's your opinion? (See news story here)




99 Comments   add a comment >>
Erika Acosta
Tuesday December 1, 2015, 5:43 AM


Child & parents need to learn discipline.

Andrea A.
Monday November 30, 2015, 5:55 AM


Counsel the child, prosecute the family.

Andrea A.
Tuesday September 8, 2015, 6:34 AM


Counsel the child, prosecute the family.

Sue H.
Saturday September 5, 2015, 11:25 PM


Counsel the family as well as keeping an eye on the child.

John B.
Friday August 14, 2015, 7:48 AM


Counsel the child and the parents.

Dimitris Dallis
Friday August 7, 2015, 9:46 AM


Thank you care2 :)

Andrea A.
Friday June 19, 2015, 9:05 AM


Counsel the child, prosecute the family.

M.N. J.
Monday June 15, 2015, 2:39 AM


Counsel child and prosecute parents.

I like Darren W.'s idea of making them visit the victims as well, except I think some arsonists actually enjoy the pain and suffering of the victims of their fires.

Jo SICK
Friday May 29, 2015, 11:31 AM


Council the child & parents.

Dimitris Dallis
Sunday May 24, 2015, 12:31 AM


Prosecute the company who build the matches.
And the state of California for it's incomplete educational system :)



Or, log in with your
Facebook account:
Compose your comment:

Remaining Characters: 1500

Should Extinct species be brought back to life? (when science makes this possible)

Suggest a Poll


New to Care2? Start Here.

site feedback

ONSITE FEEDBACK FORM

Problem on this page? Briefly let us know what isn't working for you and we'll try to make it right!