START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Tell A Friend

It might soon be possible to do full, noninvasive testing for genetic disorders in fetuses. What do you think?

(CLOSED)
Poll Results: 1,847 votes
48%
Great - I'd want to know
 
33%
Tough decision - not sure
 
14%
No - I wouldn't want to know
 
5%
Other (tell us)
 



Read more: Your Unborn Baby’s Genetic Code: Do You Want To Know?




842 Comments   add a comment >>
Jonathan Harper
Monday October 20, 2014, 11:56 AM


for it.

M.N. J.
Friday October 10, 2014, 1:44 AM


The horse has left the barn, the genie has left the bottle, and the toothpaste has left the tube.

There are people who abuse our ability to discover the gender of a fetus, and surely we will find a way to abuse this gift as well. (It seems to be in our nature.) But it is a gift.

Natasha Salgado
Wednesday October 8, 2014, 8:15 PM


Great

Mary T.
Monday October 6, 2014, 9:41 AM


not sure

Jonathan Harper
Saturday October 4, 2014, 3:13 AM


for it

Donna T.
Saturday September 27, 2014, 7:00 AM


closed

Zanne Thanarose
Wednesday September 24, 2014, 7:57 AM


I would probably want to know.

Stephanie Yarnell
Saturday September 6, 2014, 9:39 AM


Slippery slope for sure

Borg Drone
Wednesday September 3, 2014, 3:33 AM


not sure

Denise D.
Sunday August 31, 2014, 11:55 AM


I don't know, this is a double edged sword! First, would health insurance cover it? Would there be more abortions if the fetuses were found to be deformed/affected? If people did carry their affected babies to term, would they keep or give up the babies? If they kept the babies, would they have appropriate support, health insurance, etc.? There are too many unanswered questions yet,,,,



Or, log in with your
Facebook account:
Log In with Facebook
Compose your comment:

Remaining Characters: 1500
Should Extinct species be brought back to life? (when science makes this possible)

Suggest a Poll