START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Tell A Friend

Science shows that plants experience feelings. Does that impact the ethics of eating a vegan diet?

(CLOSED)
Poll Results: 4,505 votes
59%
No.
 
24%
Yes.
 
17%
Other.
 



551 Comments   add a comment >>
Darren Woolsey
Sunday January 25, 2015, 8:59 AM


One problem with science showing the plants experience feelings and emotions is they don't necessarily exhibit a behavior that we humans pick up, whereas you pretty know when an animal is suffering. Unless science can start to synthesize food that is actually healthy and good for us, we have to face the reality that life lives and breathes beyond ourselves, and we're part of a huge reciprocally maintained system of food eating and food generating.

John B.
Wednesday December 31, 2014, 3:32 PM


No.

Sue H.
Saturday December 13, 2014, 9:57 PM


??

Warren Webber
Monday November 17, 2014, 1:47 AM


Mmm, with humane treatment & food, I always think of the scene in "Gods Must Be Crazy", when the San hunter knelt down to the animal & apologized for killing it, but his family needs food.

That's why I'm in favor of hunting for necessities, but not for sport. ("I'm bored, I'm going to terrorize & kill some animals." What? Isn't that a classic sign of a serial killer?)

Nyack Clancy
Thursday September 25, 2014, 11:19 PM


We need new poll questions

Todor Todorov
Monday March 24, 2014, 8:34 AM


No

Fatima Musa
Wednesday February 26, 2014, 7:31 PM


But do they feel pain?

Joy T.
Wednesday January 29, 2014, 2:36 AM


Not really.

John B.
Thursday January 9, 2014, 6:04 AM


No.

Amandine S.
Saturday November 9, 2013, 9:19 AM


No.



Or, log in with your
Facebook account:
Log In with Facebook
Compose your comment:

Remaining Characters: 1500
Should Extinct species be brought back to life? (when science makes this possible)

Suggest a Poll