START A PETITION27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
Tell A Friend

Science shows that plants experience feelings. Does that impact the ethics of eating a vegan diet?

Poll Results: 4,505 votes

558 Comments   add a comment >>
Dimitris Dallis
Tuesday November 24, 2015, 8:54 AM

I'm happy today :)

Dimitris Dallis
Friday October 23, 2015, 10:00 AM

I was always feeling guilty eating carrots :)

John B.
Friday September 18, 2015, 9:40 AM


Jo S.
Friday August 28, 2015, 1:27 PM

Interesting question. I also would like to know if they feel pain?

M.N. J.
Sunday July 26, 2015, 11:56 PM

It should make vegans take a pause in their lecturing.

Jo Recovering
Wednesday July 1, 2015, 3:33 PM


Aaron Bouchard
Wednesday February 11, 2015, 11:49 AM


Darren Woolsey
Sunday January 25, 2015, 8:59 AM

One problem with science showing the plants experience feelings and emotions is they don't necessarily exhibit a behavior that we humans pick up, whereas you pretty know when an animal is suffering. Unless science can start to synthesize food that is actually healthy and good for us, we have to face the reality that life lives and breathes beyond ourselves, and we're part of a huge reciprocally maintained system of food eating and food generating.

John B.
Wednesday December 31, 2014, 3:32 PM


Sue H.
Saturday December 13, 2014, 9:57 PM


Or, log in with your
Facebook account:
Compose your comment:

Remaining Characters: 1500

Should Extinct species be brought back to life? (when science makes this possible)

Suggest a Poll

New to Care2? Start Here.

site feedback


Problem on this page? Briefly let us know what isn't working for you and we'll try to make it right!