START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
Tell A Friend

Should animal abusers be listed on a public registry, similar to the way sex offenders are often exposed?

(CLOSED)
Poll Results: 1,603 votes
76%
Absolutely, I want to know if I'm living next to an animal abuser.
 
15%
I'm not sure about this one.
 
7%
No, this is an invasion of privacy.
 
2%
Other.
 


California considers registry for animal abusers.




351 Comments   add a comment >>
John B.
Monday May 25, 2015, 3:03 AM


Yes!

Jo S.
Sunday March 29, 2015, 1:23 PM


Absolutely!

M.N. J.
Saturday December 20, 2014, 1:36 PM


I would rather know than not.

There are problems with overzealous application of the sex offender registry--some "indecent exposure" is innocent, and minors having sex with each other shouldn't end up on a registry that will haunt them long after high school.

However, it seems to me there would be less chance of "shades of gray" with an animal abuser registry.

It is my understanding that like pedophilia, animal abuse is something that often recurs in the perpetrator's life. Animal abusers are often also human/child/woman abusers. Again, I would want to know.

Michele Brulee
Tuesday December 16, 2014, 6:12 PM


YES! It is a crime and they should not have any pets cause they will do it again!

Magdalena J.
Thursday October 2, 2014, 5:36 AM


Yes.

John B.
Friday September 26, 2014, 9:03 AM


Yes!

Sue H.
Tuesday July 22, 2014, 7:38 PM


Yes indeed.

Nyack Clancy
Monday June 30, 2014, 11:40 PM


We need new polls

Laurel B.
Friday May 23, 2014, 10:20 PM


Yes!

Jelena Radovanovic
Sunday March 2, 2014, 5:23 AM


YES!



Or, log in with your
Facebook account:
Compose your comment:

Remaining Characters: 1500

Should Extinct species be brought back to life? (when science makes this possible)

Suggest a Poll