Start A Petition
The wolf is generally believed to be an ancestor of the domestic dog. Wolves belong to the dog family Canidae, which also includes the coyote (Canis latrons) and the jackals. There are only two remaining species of wolves today; the gray or timber wolf (Canis lupus), and the red wolf (Canisrufus). These two species consist of thirty-two subspecies, twenty-four of which live in North America. Sadly, between six to eight of these may already be extinct. The timber wolf is the largest member of the dog family, measuring up to 6.5 feet in length from nose to tail and from 26 to 36 inches in height at the shoulders. An adult timber wolf can weigh up to 175 lbs. while its counterpart, the red wolf, is generally much smaller and usually weighs no more than 66 lbs.

Artist - Louis Frisino

Grey Timber Wolf by Louis Frisino
Recently Viewed

You haven't viewed any cards recently.

New to Care2? Start Here.