START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
 
 

Pamela N.

"Finish dissertation; restore constitution and bill of rights"

Vallejo, CA, USA
female, age 61
single, 1 child
Speaks: portuguese, spanish
Joined Oct 7, 2007
What I Want to Do: write write and write


 
My Page Billboard
I am originally from Detroit, Michigan but lived in Northern California and Mexico City as a child, moving 18 times in 12 years. Grew up learning Spanish and English because both of my grandparents were near-native speakers of Spanish. Was my mother's interpreter in Mexico. Loved Mexico.

Grew up an only child and loving nature, watching ants and listening to trees, had many pet cats and two really exceptional dogs. Music lover, spent most of my childhood loving my mother's favorites: Ella Fitzgerald, Frank Sinatra, classical. Fell in love with the Beatles and then Bossa Nova. Animals, nature, music, and writing anchored me as a child, and still do.

Languages are my core passion, including writing, foreign languages, linguistics. Close second is nature, gardening, cooking, earth connections. Social activist grandmother gave me that push for justice.

I have one wonderful daughter who is in college and still lives with me.

Finishing up my dissertation on African American English and speech therapist attitudes towards AAE - a trial by fire. After this, I want to travel, learn more about herbs and herbal medicine, healing movement, and DANCE!
 
Personal Professional Contact Singles
Joined Oct 7, 2007 Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic 
Here for Dating, Job Search, Professional Connections, Support a Cause 
Group Host of none yet
Groups Portuguese language, literature and cultures
Hometown Detroit, Michigan 
Homepage  
Birthday April 07, 1953  
Languages portuguese, spanish  
About Me Single parent, into writing and research, music, books, films, cooking, gardening, being creative, dancing, community, friends, playing.
  Introduce yourself to Pamela
  Lifestyle
Pets dog, 2 Cats  
Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic
Political Leaning Very Liberal
Religions taoism, Unitarian-Universalism  
Eating Habits eating w, Keep it Healthy  
Wild Fact About Me Wasn't an army brat but lived in 2 states and 2 countries as a child. Went to 18 schools in 12 years. Lived in Brazil as a young adult.
My Philosophy The universe has its own "logic" and I'm trying to listen to it.
What Gives Me Hope The idea that no matter how bad things get, it's our main job not to give up hope that things CAN be better. It's what keeps me going.
If I were Mayor, I'd make the world a better place by Everyone would have food, shelter, health care, and education.
What/who changed my life and why Moving to Brazil changed my life because I was treated as a human being, with love and warmth and kindness. Having a child changed my life because it gave me a focus outside myself.
What Bugs Me abuse  
Passions community, nature, learning, life  
Inspirations teachers, life itself  
What Scares Me Indifference, global warming, Disrespect for others  
  Favorites
Role Models Rosa Parks, Mahatma Gandhi, grandmother, friends, buddha, Albert Einstein  
Quotation
Interests humor, Travel/Adventure, Spirituality/Philosophy, reading, psychology, photography, philosophy, pets, Mythology / Folklore, movies, meditation, herbs, gardening, ecology, children, Art/Design, Anthropology  
Books Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, The Lovely Bones, gardening, cookbooks, The Power of Now, spirituality, sci-fi, poetry, comics  
Music world music, R and B, jazz, Hip Hop, blues, bluegrass, beatles  
Movies The Smartest Guys in the Room, Ten Canoes, drama, comedy  
TV Shows Democracy Now, the Daily Show, Six Feet Under  
Favorite Foods veggies, thai, mexican, chicken  
Favorite Places Brazil, ireland, mexico  
Can't Live Without awareness  
  Introduce yourself to Pamela
 
My Thank You Notes
Friends of Pamela
none yet

Pamela's Photos

Dusty

Gabriella and dad
2 photos, 1 album »
My Butterfly Rewards

Recent Activity


    I’ve earned Butterfly Credits
    Comment Board
    No comments yet. Add one!
    Kudos
    no testimonials yet
    Profile theme: "Animals: Dolphin"   |    as your profile theme
    Flag as Inappropriate