START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
 
 

Swapan Garain

"Setting up a Social Sector B-School and a chain of Retirement Homes"

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
male, age 54
single
Speaks: bengali is my mother tongue, hindi, Englich
Joined Aug 29, 2011
What I Want to Do:
Causes:
Activities:


 
Personal Professional Contact Singles
Joined Aug 29, 2011 Activist Aspirations undeclared 
Here for Meeting Friends, Professional Connections 
Group Host of none yet
Groups Healthy Cooking, Healthy Living Network, Vegan, Vegetarian
Hometown Benuria 
Homepage http://www.linkedin.com/in/Garain  
Birthday Feb 14, 1960  
Languages bengali is my mother tongue, hindi, Englich  
About Me I, Prof. Swapan Garain, am a Social Scientist, Social Entrepreneur, Professor, Educator, Consultant, Strategist, Researcher, Guide, Trainer, Leader, Manager, Social Business Mentor, Expert, Fundraiser, Volunteer, Advisor and Guide to Charitable and Volunteering Work in India and South Asia. My core area of expertise is in the area of Charity, Philanthropy, Volunteering, Project Management, Organizational Designing, Organizational Development, Corporate Social Responsibility, Social Entrepreneurship, Small Business Development, Resettlement and Rehabilitation, Monitoring & Evaluation, Social Audit, Impact Assessment, Fund Mobilization & Management, Legal Framework, Microfinance, Governance, NGO Management, Strategic Management, Social Work, and Co-operatives. I have been active in the social business and nonprofit sector for more than thirty years. I have been engaged in training change agents, teaching university students, action research, writing and field action. I have worked in setting up and managing NGOs, guiding corporate for its social responsibility initiatives, consultancy, networking among social sector stakeholders and promotion of social entrepreneurship, involved in facilitating government policy making and appraising projects for funding. I have been a member of the Government of India’s Planning Commission Steering Committee on Voluntary Sector for the 10th (2002-2007) and 11th (2007-2012) Five year plans and also member of the Program Advisory Committee of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. I have received education from Visva-Bharati University at Santiniketan, Tata Institute of Social Sciences at Mumbai, Jamnalal Bajaj Institute of Management Studies of University of Mumbai, Indira Gandhi National Open University, and Johns Hopkins University at USA. I have been associated with Tata Institute of Social Sciences since 1981. I also worked fulltime with S P Jain Institute of Management & Research (SPJIMR) as Professor and Founder Chairperson of its Centre for Corporate Citizenship, Jamnalal Bajaj Institute of Management Studies and Royal Commonwealth Society for the Blind. I have traveled extensively in most part of rural and urban India and parts of United States, Russia, Northern Ireland, Australia, Thailand, Japan, Turkey, China and South Africa.
  Introduce yourself to Swapan
  Lifestyle
Pets 0  
Activist Aspirations
Political Leaning
Religions hindu  
Eating Habits  
Wild Fact About Me
My Philosophy
What Gives Me Hope
If I were Mayor, I'd make the world a better place by
What/who changed my life and why
What Bugs Me  
Passions  
Inspirations  
What Scares Me  
  Favorites
Role Models  
Quotation
Interests  
Books  
Music  
Movies  
TV Shows  
Favorite Foods  
Favorite Places  
Can't Live Without  
  Introduce yourself to Swapan
 
My Thank You Notes
Friends of Swapan
none yet

My Butterfly Rewards

Recent Activity


    I’ve earned Butterfly Credits
    Comment Board
    No comments yet. Add one!
    Kudos
    no testimonials yet
    Profile theme: "C2C Default"   |    as your profile theme
    Flag as Inappropriate