START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x
1,637,710 people care about Politics

Anti-Islam Teaching In U.S. Military To Be Reviewed

Anti-Islam Teaching In U.S. Military To Be Reviewed

Last month, the Chairman of the United States Joint Chiefs of Staff (JCS), General Martin Dempsey, issued a mandatory edict that all training and educational materials throughout the military must be immediately reviewed within one month’s time to ensure that no anti-Muslim or anti-Islam references or content remain.

The edict followed a series of news reports that officers and enlisted members were being taught and institutionally indoctrinated that “the United States is at war with Islam and we ought to just recognize that.”

Last week, Wired.com revealed that a defense department class for U.S. military officers urged soldiers to prepare for a “total war” against Muslims. An instructor at the Joint Forces Staff College in Norfolk, Virginia was teaching that “Hiroshima”-style tactics would be needed.

The instructor, army lieutenant colonel Matthew A Dooley, brought in several ideological allies to support his conclusion, including Shireen Burki, who in 2008 told future military decision makers that “Obama is bin Laden’s dream candidate.”

General Dempsey described the course as “counter to our values of appreciation for religious freedom and cultural awareness” and “just objectionable, academically irresponsible.”

Last year, Wired revealed that FBI counter-terrorism agents were taught that “main stream” [sic] American Muslims are likely to be terrorist sympathizers; that the Prophet Mohammed was a ‘cult leader’; and that the Islamic practice of giving charity is no more than a “funding mechanism for combat.”

A six month review the FBI launched into agent training material uncovered 876 offensive or inaccurate pages that had been used in 392 presentations, including a PowerPoint slide that said the bureau can sometimes bend or suspend the law in counterterror investigations.

FBI Director Robert Mueller said: “It does us no good to have personnel who are trained with inadequate materials or misguided materials.”

The FBI’s effort to remove factually inaccurate materials and training has been predictably attacked by some members of the GOP.

Such teaching runs the complete opposite to repeated statements by U.S. officials, under this administration and the last one, that America is at war with extremists and not with the religion of Islam. The idea of America being at war with Islam is what al-Qaida is telling Muslims across the world.

Mikey Weinstein, President of the Military Religious Freedom Foundation, writes for Alternet of a series of exposes, leading up to General Dempsey’s edict, of courses and presentations to officers where they’re told “we have to kill Islam” or “America and the West are doomed to failure in this war unless they stand up and identify the real enemy: Islam.”

Says Weinstein:

Anti-Muslim hatred … has warped the cultural competence of United Staes service members, leading to grim results in combat theaters within which the U.S. has been engaged since 9/11. In 2012 alone there have been reports of bodies being urinated on by U.S. Marines, the proud and brazen display of the Nazi Waffen-SS banner by U.S. Marines, soldiers posing with corpses, and most insultingly, the burning of copies of the Qur’an at Bagram Air Field. Most recently, the Beaufort, South Carolina-based Marine Fighter Attack Squadron 122 (VMFA-122) renamed themselves the “Crusaders” (a phrase which literally means “taking up the cross”) and adopted the iconography of the crusading, medieval Knights Templar.

In a poor, strife-ridden nation such as Afghanistan, people have little to hold on to beyond strong familial and tribal bonds and a firm sense of national, ethnic, cultural and religious dignity. Sadly, racist and dehumanizing indoctrination by America’s own war machine has transformed all too many American war fighters into arrogant, marauding crusaders.

Those who allowed for these egregious violations of DoD-sponsored Islamophobia to take place must face stern and swift discipline for their complicity in the dissemination of bigoted disinformation that has placed American lives at dire risk.

Related stories:

Who’s Praying For Their Enemies to Get Breast Cancer?

Taxpayers Funding Employment Discrimination By Religious Groups

Rosie O’Donnell Takes No Crap From Street Preacher (Video)

Read more: , , , ,

Photo credit: The U.S. Army

have you shared this story yet?

some of the best people we know are doing it

268 comments

+ add your own
6:47PM PST on Feb 5, 2013

And we cannot tell our US Troops to beware of these animals?

Tuesday February 5, 2013, 1:32 pm
Hena Begum was a fourteen year old girl growing up in the Shariatpur region of Bangladesh until her forty year old cousin decided to rape her.

After she was raped, the rapist and his family then beat her until she was unconscious.

Next, the local Sharia (Islamic) courts ruled that yound Hena should receive 101 lashes for the crime of adultery — for the crime of being a child raped by an adult.

The Muslim clerics took the young girl, who still could not stand on her own, to a public square and proceeded to deliver the 101 lashes. After receiving 80 lashes, young Hena collapsed. Her family was allowed to take her to a hospital where she died from her wounds.

The child’s father, Dorbesh Khan, was also ordered to pay a fine equal to approximately $700 USD — quite a considerable sum in a nation which is suffering under the poverty which almost inevitably results from Islamic rule.

The rapist, Mahbub Khan, had been previously convicted of rape and sentenced to marry his rape victim. The rape victim from that encounter was one of the family members who helped beat young Hena unconscious before her “trial.” Mahbub has since disappeared in order to avoid punishment for this more recent rape.

6:20PM PST on Feb 5, 2013

The Muslim religion is one of "it my way or the high way". They burn the US Flag and the Christian Bibles, but just get dirt on their Koran and they are willing to kill. Stupid, I say. The Muslim can cut off the head of an infidel, and think they are doing right, when a Marine does what someone from every fighting unit in the world has done at one time or another, urinate on a corpse, it is a world (not national) disaster. The world needs to wake up and treat an islamist or muslim just as they treat the world as an enemy.

1:44AM PST on Feb 4, 2013

This is horrific. Why do countrymen willing to serve follow biased views?

8:52AM PDT on Aug 23, 2012

Andy, you've done a top notch job of trying to explain Islam and all the conflicts reflected in what seems to be going on in our country today.

I would suggest to many of those who've commented, that they read the Old testament of our Bible. There is little difference there between the practices they so dislike in Islam and those of the Jews of the era when Islam arose. As we write, Israel is having to deal with Orthodox Jews ' attempts to put women back into that era. Religious extremism on one hand leads to the same thing on the other hand,

We need to remember how those who choose to live by the sword will die.

6:56PM PDT on May 23, 2012

Prego, I have a US friend that was married to a saudi and got a divorce, the man came to America to visit his 4 year old son and he snached the child and took him back to Saudi. She spent a fortune trying to get him back It a country does not respect our laws, there is no reason for us to respect theirs.

If the Isamist do not want to live by our US Constituton then there is nothing that says they should have to do so as soon as they arrive back in their own Islamic country. We even have had a judge lecturing the husband in this country on how to beat his wife. Someone should beat the judge and the husband.

6:33PM PDT on May 23, 2012

Human Rights do not exist in Islam. Anyone even entertaining the fact that Islam is peaceful and wants only to co-exist peacefully within our societies - is not only DUMB but the DUMBEST OF THE DUMB. Majority of the troubles in the world today - if you listen/read the news - is because of Islam and its focus on world dominance. We who speak out against Islam are not racist - because Islam is of no race. Many moderate Muslims are controlled from birth to grave by the radicalism of the 'Qu'eeran'. To you pro-Islamists on this blog - I ask this question:
IF THERE IS A CALL TO JIHAD - WHAT PATH DO YOU THINK THESE 'MODERATES' WILL FOLLOW - PEACE OR WAR?

9:09PM PDT on May 22, 2012

David here is exactly what I was talking about happening in AMERICA, I hope you have taken the time to read about Sharia Law happening in America today!!
"They include a case in which a judge concluded it essentially was a Muslim man’s right to beat and assault his wife. In another case, a Muslim woman who had fled Pakistan was forced by a U.S. judge to send her child back to Pakistan, because the father claimed it was his right to have the child.

Further appeals, the judge ruled, would be in Pakistan. When the mother argued that she could be accused of crimes and sentenced to death if she returned to Pakistan to fight for her child, the judge concluded, essentially, that it was her problem."
The judge should be placed in a US Jail.

6:36AM PDT on May 22, 2012

(Continued) In the final analysis, though, it would help if people everywhere began to see that religion itself – rather than its devotees – that’s no longer fit for purpose. Its time humanity grew up and shed its childish beliefs in mystical sky creatures. See: http://andycox1953.webs.com/apointofview.htm for more on this
Andy

6:35AM PDT on May 22, 2012

(Continued) Undoubtedly, many Muslims are devout practitioners. But I suspect that what inspires their devotion is the solace afforded by their religion in countering this chaotic, cruel capitalistic world – which envelops the whole planet. Marx’s ‘Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world’ is a profound truth. But it’s probably also the case that, like their Christian co-religionists, a good many Muslims only pay lip service to the creed, with the workaday world of employment, business, shopping, getting about, family and friends, the local football team having far more relevance to their lives than religion ever could.. In fact, this is how we should be looking at ‘the Muslims’, as by and large, just ordinary people like us, with the same needs, fears, and ambitions as us. Let’s not clump them all into some monolithic group with ‘Handle with care’ or ‘Evil’ labels plastered all over them. Let’s humanise these people, for goodness sake; lets use a bit of empathy and not get carried away hysterical scapegoating.

6:34AM PDT on May 22, 2012

(Continued) But the Islamic world, initially minimally affected by these developments (the image of Mahdist forces being massacred by British Maxim guns at Omduran says it all), only really felt the impact of capitalism in the twentieth century and has never really had the time to come to terms with it. Hence you get the incongruous pictures of a terrorist with a medieval mind-set engaged in sophisticated computer hacking operations, or public stonings in modern football stadiums. Something is terribly wrong here, and it disturbs us in the West, used as we are to the trappings of a comfortable material civilisation. And yet change is afoot, slowly and painfully, See this, for example: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/7264903.stm.

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

Care2 - Be Extraordinary - Start a Care2 Petition
ads keep care2 free
CONTACT THE EDITORS

Recent Comments from Causes

How great to read story's like this. Big thanks to all people who rescued these dogs.

All immensely beautiful souls ....both human and animal.......thanks for sharing.

Christine J.-- The problem is man usually has only one way to stop predation of any species------…

ads keep care2 free



Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.