START A PETITION 27,000,000 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x

Is Champagne Vegan?

Is Champagne Vegan?

Is your Champagne flute ready to toast the New Year? If, like many others, you are preparing with this bubbly celebratory drink, you should know that it may not be vegan.

Bon Appetit explains that the base for Champagne is typically a dry wine made from Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, or a blend. Many wines, including Champagnes, go through a process that uses fining agents to clarify their product. These fining agents can include:

  • isinglass (bladders of fish)
  • gelatin (animal protein from the skin and connective tissue of pigs and cows)
  • carmine (the bodies of dried cochineal beetles)
  • casein (a protein derived from milk)
  • chitosan (made from crustaceans)
  • egg albumen (egg whites)

Finding out whether or not Champagne is vegan by looking at the bottle is usually not reliable. Typically the bottle will not be labeled vegan and it is not clearly stated what fining agents are used. The good news is there are vegan Champagnes out there! The popular Champagnes Moet and Chandron, as well as Dom Perignon are vegan. The website Barnivore is one source to help look up specific champagnes like these, though you should be sure to read what the company states about each product to verify the claim.

Vegan Champagnes:
Champagne Fleury
Dom Perignon
Domaine Ste. Michelle (Blanc de Blancs, Blanc de Noirs, Brut, Extra Dry and Luxe)
Korbel Natural Champagne
Moet and Chandon

Champagnes that are NOT vegan:
Bollinger
Cooke’s
Freixenet Sparkling Wines
Gloria Ferrer Sparkling Wine
Harmony Wynelands Wedding Champagne
Korbel Brut and Extra Dry
Louis Roederer Champagne
Yellowglen Pink Champagne

 

If you have a favorite Champagne, the best way to find out if it is vegan or not is to contact the company directly and ask, “Is your Champagne vegan? Do you use fining agents?”

If you opt for a different type of drink on New Year’s, there are a number that are vegan, including Grey Goose, Absolut, and Don Julio Tequila. You can also toast with the classic non-alcoholic and vegan Martinelli’s Sparkling Cider. Or, better yet, you can check your local health food store or market for local drink varieties.

written by Kourtney Linebaugh

 

Gentle World is a vegan intentional community and non-profit organization, whose core purpose is to help build a more peaceful society, by educating the public about the reasons for being vegan, the benefits of vegan living, and how to go about making such a transition. For more information about vegan food and other aspects of a vegan lifestyle, visit the Gentle World website and subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

Read more: Conscious Consumer, Drinks, Food, Holidays, New Year, Vegan

have you shared this story yet?

go ahead, give it a little love

Angel Flinn

Angel Flinn is Director of Outreach for Gentle World – a non-profit educational organization whose core purpose is to help build a more peaceful society, by educating the public about the reasons for being vegan, the benefits of vegan living, and how to go about making the transition.

152 comments

+ add your own
1:51AM PDT on Mar 14, 2015

Thank you!

2:38AM PST on Feb 1, 2015

Hi Barb H., I was trying to be 'polite' and avoid using a profanity.

8:42AM PST on Jan 30, 2015

Thank you

9:32AM PST on Jan 21, 2015

Thank you

7:29PM PST on Jan 15, 2015

Karen P, what does sh*ts me to tears mean? that's a new one for me

5:56AM PST on Jan 9, 2015

Linda M., water is not as innocent as you think. You DO know what fish do in it, don't you?

5:54AM PST on Jan 9, 2015

Yes, and it sh*ts me to tears. Am I making it clear? So give me a break, for f**k's sake" - sorry can't remember the name of the band who wrote that. My mother recently bought some store bought 'french fries' which were in her freezer. While I am an enthusiastic proponent of making my own chips or wedges, I mean how hard is it to cut up some spuds and put them in your choice of oil, I was at her house so as she wanted them with fish, I took them out of the freezer. To my utter horror and dismay, as I read the labelling, they contained 'animal tallow or fat'. Bugger me, now vegos or vegans can't even eat store bought spuds (at least not this brand) because they are full of dead animals. All the more ammo for cooking my own. What the hell is wrong with these manufacturers, that they cannot use vegetable oil, so their food caters for people who don't want to eat any of the carcasses of dead beasts?

6:01PM PST on Jan 3, 2015

Wow! Am I glad I waited to read this article until AFTER New Year's Eve!

10:48PM PST on Jan 1, 2015

Still good to know that there are options.

4:38PM PST on Jan 1, 2015

Cheers!

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

people are talking

We are a greedy society that doesn't think of the consequences of our actions. By buying from Wal-ma…

noted, thanks.........people are just so wasteful.......food and so many other things, too

Thank you

It's not the country that is happy, rather the people living there, eh... With regards, your happy, …

Just putting this out there I would never castrate my dogs Vasectomy from a vet is hard to find bu…

CONTACT THE EDITORS



Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.