START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x

Is Champagne Vegan?

  • 2 of 3

Finding out whether or not Champagne is vegan by looking at the bottle is usually not reliable. Typically the bottle will not be labeled vegan and it is not clearly stated what fining agents are used. The good news is there are vegan Champagnes out there! The popular Champagnes Moet and Chandron, as well as Dom Perignon are vegan. The website Barnivore is one source to help look up specific champagnes like these, though you should be sure to read what the company states about each product to verify the claim.

Vegan Champagnes:
Champagne Fleury
Dom Perignon
Domaine Ste. Michelle (Blanc de Blancs, Blanc de Noirs, Brut, Extra Dry and Luxe)
Korbel Natural Champagne
Moet and Chandon

Champagnes that are NOT vegan:
Bollinger
Cooke’s
Freixenet Sparkling Wines
Gloria Ferrer Sparkling Wine
Harmony Wynelands Wedding Champagne
Korbel Brut and Extra Dry
Louis Roederer Champagne
Yellowglen Pink Champagne

  • 2 of 3

Read more: Conscious Consumer, Drinks, Food, Holidays, New Year, Vegan

have you shared this story yet?

go ahead, give it a little love

Angel Flinn

Angel Flinn is Director of Outreach for Gentle World – a non-profit educational organization whose core purpose is to help build a more peaceful society, by educating the public about the reasons for being vegan, the benefits of vegan living, and how to go about making the transition.

76 comments

+ add your own
12:33PM PDT on May 15, 2013

Sharing

6:53AM PDT on May 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing.

3:17AM PDT on May 10, 2013

It's not just wine and it's not just vegans - the potential ingredients listed are not vegetarian either and it is both wine and "real" beer that are affected. You can buy vegetarian wine, but as it is far from mainstream, there will be very little decent stuff available.

6:15PM PST on Mar 4, 2013

Hadn't got around to thinking about alcohol (now I've take the Vegan road); so glad to know about champagne...thanks for this info.

3:38AM PST on Jan 21, 2013

thanks i never know it

6:40PM PST on Jan 20, 2013

Wow gross

12:13PM PST on Jan 13, 2013

For God's sakes, you Puritans. In what way are you different from the old Puritans who frowned on everything. Get a life!!!

6:52PM PST on Jan 7, 2013

Very good info. I know someone who is (mainly) vegan, but doesn't believe that wine isn't vegan, so I can pass this info on.

8:56PM PST on Jan 6, 2013

OMW! Never knew that! Thanks

9:51AM PST on Jan 6, 2013

ty

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

people are talking

People should know how to separate fiction from real life... or they will learn it the hard way.

I haven't tried the oil pulling yet. My naturopath has recently made me up a herbal mouthwash which …

Yeah, this pretty much sums it up!

Story idea? Want to blog? Contact the editors!



Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.