Care2 will go offline for site maintenance July 31 at 9pm PST.
START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
START A PETITION
x

Is Champagne Vegan?

If you have a favorite Champagne, the best way to find out if it is vegan or not is to contact the company directly and ask, “Is your Champagne vegan? Do you use fining agents?”

If you opt for a different type of drink on New Year’s, there are a number that are vegan, including Grey Goose, Absolut, and Don Julio Tequila. You can also toast with the classic non-alcoholic and vegan Martinelli’s Sparkling Cider. Or, better yet, you can check your local health food store or market for local drink varieties.

written by Kourtney Linebaugh

 

Gentle World is a vegan intentional community and non-profit organization, whose core purpose is to help build a more peaceful society, by educating the public about the reasons for being vegan, the benefits of vegan living, and how to go about making such a transition. For more information about vegan food and other aspects of a vegan lifestyle, visit the Gentle World website and subscribe to our monthly newsletter.

Read more: Conscious Consumer, Drinks, Food, Holidays, New Year, Vegan

have you shared this story yet?

go ahead, give it a little love

Angel Flinn

Angel Flinn is Director of Outreach for Gentle World – a non-profit educational organization whose core purpose is to help build a more peaceful society, by educating the public about the reasons for being vegan, the benefits of vegan living, and how to go about making the transition.

76 comments

+ add your own
12:33PM PDT on May 15, 2013

Sharing

6:53AM PDT on May 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing.

3:17AM PDT on May 10, 2013

It's not just wine and it's not just vegans - the potential ingredients listed are not vegetarian either and it is both wine and "real" beer that are affected. You can buy vegetarian wine, but as it is far from mainstream, there will be very little decent stuff available.

6:15PM PST on Mar 4, 2013

Hadn't got around to thinking about alcohol (now I've take the Vegan road); so glad to know about champagne...thanks for this info.

3:38AM PST on Jan 21, 2013

thanks i never know it

6:40PM PST on Jan 20, 2013

Wow gross

12:13PM PST on Jan 13, 2013

For God's sakes, you Puritans. In what way are you different from the old Puritans who frowned on everything. Get a life!!!

6:52PM PST on Jan 7, 2013

Very good info. I know someone who is (mainly) vegan, but doesn't believe that wine isn't vegan, so I can pass this info on.

8:56PM PST on Jan 6, 2013

OMW! Never knew that! Thanks

9:51AM PST on Jan 6, 2013

ty

add your comment



Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

people are talking

Formic acid will do. :-)

Agreed, this is not a happy situation. So what are we supposed to do? Give up denim? Look for a u…

Actually, I like seeing women as sexual objects. That is, as long as they have sexy bodies and are p…

Story idea? Want to blog? Contact the editors!



Select names from your address book   |   Help
   

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.