Below is the simple process Barnivore contributors go through before submitting a new listing to the website. This questionnaire can be found on the Barnivore site in a number of different languages as well. As I said on the pervious page though, it is important to go a bit deeper than this questionnaire, specifying any concerns about animal products not only being added during processing, but also to the raw ingredients being used. Don’t let the legwork deter you; it’s pretty simple and fast once you get down to it.
“Barnivore relies on input from readers like you to check (and double check!) with your favourite drink makers to see what’s in their products.
Please use email to contact companies. We know Twitter’s cool, but it doesn’t archive the same way and we’ve found that 140 characters isn’t enough to get a reliable answer. If a company isn’t responding to mail, tweet to tell them to check it, but we won’t accept Tweets as official answers at this time.
Checking with a company is simple. All you need to do is send them an email with one of our standard questions (see below) and forward us the response so we can add it to the list and help the rest of the world enjoy vegan drinks!
If you get a response that isn’t awesome, please (politely!) let them know how you feel! We’ve got a sample response you can use (English only for now, hint hint…) here.
Along with your submission, be sure to include the Company’s name, mailing address, email and phone number so we can make your update faster. Seriously, finding that stuff sometimes takes longer than emailing the company in the first place, and we get a lot of submissions, so this will really help us out! If you are submitting a “double check” to a company that already exists on Barnivore, then don’t worry about it!
Hi, I’m helping to update an online directory of vegan-friendly alcohol, and I was hoping you could provide some information about [BRAND NAME].
Does [BRAND NAME] contain any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, honey, etc) or are animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product (such as isinglass, gelatin, etc)?
Also, is your product manufactured anywhere else in the world (by a sub-licensee, for instance) that might use a different processing system? *
*I would suggest inserting this line into your email [Does the product use refined sugar that may have been processed using bone char?]
I hope this helps your piece of mind as you enjoy a vegan friendly beverage and encourages you to dig a bit deeper when it comes to both your food and drink – Salute!