Oktoberfest Becomes Vegan-Friendly

Yes you read the title of this blog correctly. ABC News reported recently that Bavaria’s Oktoberfest, classically known “for copious amounts of beer and meat” is now offering vegan dishes and even vegan wines!

Although the call for more vegetarian and vegan options at the festival was made in part by foreign visitors, the number of vegetarians and vegans in Germany is also on the rise.

Currently “About 800,000 of the country’s seven million vegetarians forego all animal products, according to the Association of German Vegetarians (VEBU).” And this number is continuing to grow. Berlin, Germany’s capital, is now home to a growing number of vegan restaurants, shops and the world’s largest vegan grocery store chain.

“Vegan food is the best way to ensure that people of all religions, as well as those that don’t eat animal products out of conviction, aren’t excluded from the festivities,” said one festival vendor.

While this shift may not appear groundbreaking to most, to me it is a signal that change is in the air! And that even traditions steeped in animal consumption and use can evolve with time.



Related Stories:

Scientist Says, ‘Dogs Are People, Too’

Horse Slaughter Halted in the US

Vegan Strongman Sets New World Record

Love This? Never Miss Another Story.


Christine Jones
Christine Jones8 months ago

Encouraging news. Thanks for sharing.

Carrie-Anne Brown
Carrie-Anne Brownabout a year ago

thanks for sharing :)

heather g.
heather g.2 years ago

Vegetarianism is very well-established everywhere because of the high demand.

Einstein said: Nothing will benefit human health and increase the chances for survival of life on Earth as much as the evolution to a vegetarian diet.

Hahaha Einstein's words have obviously not reached everyone in British Columbia !

Ben B.
Ben B.2 years ago

Sign of the times..., Oktoberfest was always about beer, German sausage, bratwurst, you name it any sort of meat was on the menu, ... of course there was plenty of sauerkraut, brat-kartoffeln etc...,

So, now there are vegan options and hopefully a message about drinking responsibly.

Irene S.
Irene S.2 years ago

Oh, great! So even vegans can drink their brains off now and the vomit in the streets and trains is vegan at least. Just another commercial gimmick.

Kay M.
Kay M.2 years ago

nice. vegans rule.

Carole R.
Carole R.2 years ago

Thanks for sharing this.

Syd H.
Syd H.2 years ago

Wine is usually clarified by using isinglass which is from fish bladders hence not vegan.


I'm always quite amazed by those who *without even checking into it* dismiss something as a marketing ploy or other accusations. Google is our friend (at least in cases such as this).

Vegan wine is real and uses an alternative or doesn't bother with the clarifying process.


So while it's called "vegan" wine, essentially non-vegan wine is not even suitable for vegetarians as it uses dead animal products (although all dairy cows and layer chickens are slaughtered after their slavery terms as well).

Chazz York jr
Chazz York2 years ago

I'm not much of a whine person, unless cooking with it. It gives me a bit of a headache otherwise, and that is without even drinking to be drunk on it.

Gloria picchetti
Gloria picchetti2 years ago

It works for me.