Start A Petition
 
 

Fran Wolfe-Johnson

"sustainable living within my means"

Keystone Heights, FL, USA
female, age 47
committed relationship, 3 children
Speaks: ASL, Osage (learning, a baby's vocab), Navajo (understand but no longer speak), French (read only, grade school level), German (read only), Spanish
Joined Feb 27, 2006


 
My Page Billboard

My heritage includes both the pioneers who settled the west and the unfortunate Natives who were in their way. I try to set an example and embrace the best of both worlds.  I am proud of this heritage and I use it as my guide to living and loving.


I'm severely disabled, a bad genetic combination of alphabet diagnoses, and use a power chair to get around on the days when I still feel able to go out.  Chemotherapy has reduced me to a seat on the sidelines, but I still like to get out and play whenever I can.

I chose my family.  I have a loving husband (going on fifteen years together, twelve of those married), a beautiful Cajun girlfriend...and her half brother is my lover.  We are housewives, the husband works for a company which manages other corporations' health benefits, and my lover is a profiler with the FBI (specializing in missing and exploited children).  We have several children, none of which are biologically mine, for which we share parenting and I am one of the legal guardians to a sixteen year old girl with learning disabilities and severe emotional issues.  No, we aren't about sex and orgies and no, we're not looking for more family!

I live on five acres of virgin Florida scrub forest and swamp. I kept it that way on purpose and cleared as little as possible in order to put my home in.  We have been removing invasive vegetation in order to allow the native plants a chance and to protect the habitats of the several endangered species --- seen with my own eyes --- which live here.  We use organic, raised bed, and cube foot gardening to maximize our protection of the environment and to minimize our ecological footprint.  We have no livestock yet, but eventually we'll also have goats, chickens, and horses.

My hobbies include reading, writing, artwork, and making gemstone jewelry.  I work a lot with found items or repurposed items, things most folks throw away without thought.  I like to cook, though my participation is limited since the home was not meant for someone in a wheelchair and we don't have the money to convert it.  I like debate, especially about philosophies and comparative religion, but I don't do politics.  It's too difficult to agree on common ground so I avoid the subject.

In case you missed it:  I'm fat. Obese.  I'm comfortable with this and I work toward accepting my body as it is and making healthy choices which are right for me rather than trying to conform to an unreachable ideal.  If you can't deal with that, we're probably better off not talking.  I don't diet.  I don't want surgery.  And none of my health issues are linked to being fat (they're all crappy genetics).

I'm pagan, initiated third degree in the Georgian Tradition and high priestess of Owl Moon Coven.  My totems are coyote and cougar and, in homage to my Osage roots, I've chosen to embrace them completely and make them part of my soul.  I don't mind that others take comfort from other religions, but I won't be converted. What I've done is right for me and what you've done is right for you.  We can talk and build bridges in commonalities, but I don't put up with any kind of religion bashing.

If you can deal with all this, maybe we can be friends. I don't bite...often. 
 
Personal Professional Contact Singles
Joined Feb 27, 2006 Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic 
Here for Meeting Friends, Support a Cause 
Group Host of none yet
Groups none yet
Hometown Montrose, CO 
Homepage http://www.myhappytrails.net  
Birthday Aug 09, 1971  
About Me Extremely fat, severely disabled housewife. My intellect is still intact, but the body has failed me completely.
  Introduce yourself to Fran
  Lifestyle
Activist Aspirations Enthusiastic
Political Leaning Moderate
Wild Fact About Me My red hair is completely natural, no dyes involved!
My Philosophy Live and let live. I won't tell you what to do and I'd like the same courtesy.
What Gives Me Hope Listening to a child correct an adult's cruel behavior or ignorant remarks.
If I were Mayor, I'd make the world a better place by Standardize health care so that everyone is entitled to the basic preventative care and make certain that the medicine practice is evidence based instead of based on personal perceptions.
What/who changed my life and why "Seven Pillars of Wisdom" by TE Lawrence because it gave me some sharp insight into the mess in the Middle East...and how the western world didn't help.
  Favorites
Quotation What have YOU done to make the world a better place today?
  Introduce yourself to Fran
 
My Thank You Notes
Friends of Fran

Nicole B.

Soren G.

Melissa H.

View all: 3 friends
My Butterfly Rewards

Most recent activity (up to 500 gifts shown)


    I’ve earned Butterfly Credits
    Comment Board
    No comments yet. Add one!
    Kudos
    no testimonials yet
    Profile theme: "Other: Candles"   |    as your profile theme
    Flag as Inappropriate

    New to Care2? Start Here.