10 of the Worst Things Alex Jones Has Said Or Done

When tech giants YouTube, Facebook, Apple and Spotify kicked Alex Jones off their online platforms, the conspiracy theorist and his extreme-right buddies complained that his free speech rights under the First Amendment had been violated. But they are wrong. 

Jones has profited a large amount of money by perpetuating false claims and has significantly hurt people by spreading lies. He already faces numerous defamation claims, and several free speech scholars have declared that what Jones has said online is not protected by the First Amendment.

For those not familiar with the conspiracies that Jones has peddled, here’s a sampling of some of his worst moments:

1. In denouncing the murder of 26 people at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012, calling it an “elaborate hoax,” Jones has forced the parents of Noah Pozner, a 6-year-old killed at this mass shooting, to move seven times as they are pursued by “truthers.”

2. Reaping more misery from another tragic school shooting, Jones has pushed the conspiracy theory that the Parkland, Florida, survivors are in fact “crisis actors.”

3. Jones perpetuated claims that one of Hillary Clinton’s top advisors ran a satanic sex trafficking ring out of a pizzeria. Days after Jones talked about these baseless claims, one of his followers entered the pizzeria with a rifle and fired off several rounds of bullets. 

4. “It is an incontrovertible fact that Three Million Illegals voted in the Presidential Election.”

5. “The government put fluoride in the tap water to turn the friggin’ frogs gay.”

6. ”Hillary Clinton is operating a high-level pedophile ring.”

7. Clinton is also “an abject psychopathic demon from hell that as soon as she gets into power she’ll try to destroy the planet.”

8. A July 1, 2018, tweet: “BREAKING: Democrats Plan To Launch Civil War on July 4th.”

9. Obama and Clinton “keep babies alive and sell their body parts.” 

10. President Obama will “round up people into concentration camps.”

 As HuffPo states:

“The protests over Jones’ banning aren’t about freedom of speech and making sure everyone has a say. This is about maintaining and sustaining white supremacy and power. This is about Jones and his ability to earn ridiculous amounts of money peddling falsehoods, inflaming hatred and selling junk. There is no absolute right to be a hateful grifter without accountability.”

Recently four law professors whose specialty is free speech issues came out strongly to urge a federal judge not to let Jones hide behind the First Amendment.

“False speech does not serve the public interest the way true speech does,” they wrote. “And indeed, there is no constitutional value in false statements of fact.”

This leads us to ask why Twitter is not following the lead of other tech platforms and shutting Jones down?

This week Jack Dorsey, Twitter’s CEO, explained in a series of tweets  why he has not banned or even restricted Jones. “If we succumb and simply react to outside pressure, rather than straightforward principles we enforce (and evolve) impartially regardless of political viewpoints, we become a service that’s constructed by our personal views that can swing in any direction,” he wrote. “That’s not us.”

Dorsey was also interviewed by Sean Hannity, Trump’s favorite at Fox News, to explain why he was not taking action against Jones.

With Twitter reporting a dramatic drop in active users last month, could it be rather that conspiracy theorists like Jones are essential to Twitter because they provide “click bait”?

It’s time for Twitter to do the right thing and remove Alex Jones.

If you agree, please sign my petition demanding that Jack Dorsey step up and pull Jones from Twitter immediately.

Photo Credit: Screenshot from YouTube video

75 comments

Danuta W
Danuta W4 months ago

Thank you for sharing

SEND
Renata B
Renata B4 months ago

Curious: in the UK Alex Jones is a presenter of a radio station of classical music.

SEND
Renata B
Renata B4 months ago

But why don't you lock such individuals in a mental hospital? One is even in the White House and is destroying out planet. They may say that the moon is made of cheese and the earth is flat, and yes that the earth was made out of nothing in six days by an old man with a long beard sitting in the sky, and then he rested. This doesn't make it true. There are many Napoleons and Cleopatras around, let us not forget it.

SEND
Chad Anderson
Chad Anderson5 months ago

Thank you.

SEND
Brian F
Brian F6 months ago

Susanne R Bernie Sanders won Minnesota, but still lost the state because Al Franken was a super delegate, and voted for Hillary. Having super delegates like the Democrats do is extremely dishonest. The only reason the Democrats have their horribly unfair super delegate rule is to remain in power, continue their corruption, and keep challengers like Bernie Sanders from having any power. In addition, most of the Democrats are refusing to support Medicare for all, free colleges, a $15.00 minimum wage, and marijuana legalization, because they are crooks like the Republicans. For you to defend the corruption of the Democratic party, is really dishonest.

SEND
Susanne R
Susanne R6 months ago

Brian - You said "progressives like Noam Chomsky, Cenk Uygur, and many others also have said that Hillary and the DNC are extremely corrupt, so this is not my opinion."

It's NOT your opinion? So you don't agree with them, either?

Why is it that you're always telling me that everything I say is wrong and everybody is much more intelligent than I am? Are you sure you're in a position to make that call? I would suggest that you read your own comments.

Have you also figured out how many people are leaving the Democratic party and joining the #Walkaway movement because of me? When you do, let me know. And take as much time as you need to ensure that your figures are accurate.

SEND
Brian F
Brian F6 months ago

Susanne R The WikiLeaks emails and Julian Assange proved that Hillary and the DNC are extremely corrupt. In addition most progressives like Noam Chomsky, Cenk Uygur, Jimmy Dore, Glenn Greenwald, Susan Sarandon, Cornel West, and many others also have said that Hillary and the DNC are extremely corrupt, so this is not my opinion. You're pushing people away from the Democratic party by constantly defending their corruption. Julian Assange and others here are much more intelligent than you. It's people like you who are the reason why people are leaving the Democratic party, and joining the "Walk Away" movement.

SEND
Rhoberta E
Rhoberta E6 months ago

brian f
That wasn't the topic here was it nor was that what I asked you to explain to members wo think you are telling them something important.
Explain WHY you trash the democrats at every opportunity you get yet YOU voted for them in 2016 !!!
BOT for trump is more likely

SEND
Susanne R
Susanne R6 months ago

Brian F. - You stated: "In addition Seth Rich was a Bernie Sanders supporter who openly spoke out about ending the Democrats unfair super delegate rule, and other corruption." In case you haven't noticed, you do that all day, every day, non-stop, in a public forum. Are you concerned for your own safety? If you were, you'd stop.

You also said: "By you constantly defending that corruption, you're being extremely dishonest and pushing people away from the Democratic party." I don't see the corruption that you see, so I'm not being dishonest and I'm not pushing people away from the Democratic Party.

And finally, my favorite part: "How about trying a new approach, and being honest about the corruption of the Democrats. Then we can move on." I HAVE moved on! Your opinions don't bother me as much as mine bother you. And I didn't need your permission or meet your conditions. You're not a judge and jury. And, in spite of what you think, you don't have all the answers.

SEND
Brian F
Brian F6 months ago

Rhoberta E The Democrats refused to hand the server directly to the FBI. Using a third party, CrowdStrike is dishonest. According to the chain of custody, when the FBI asked for evidence, it must be handed directly over to them, and not given to a third party. This compromises the evidence. Doesn't that seem dishonest to you?

SEND