START A PETITION 25,136,189 members: the world's largest community for good
399,865 people care about Real Food

Vegan Peeps: Just What We Do (Or Don’t) Need

Vegan Peeps: Just What We Do (Or Don’t) Need

Maybe you’re not not religious or Christian, so Easter is not a holiday you celebrate. But perhaps you still enjoy some of the more light-hearted traditions (in the U.S.), such as the brightly colored marshmallow bunnies and chicks called Peeps.

If you’re avoiding meat and any products made from animals, Peeps are on the “no thank you” list. Marshmallows look innocuous enough. But they can sometimes contain eggs and most commercially-produced ones use gelatin, which is derived from the hides and bones of animals (which could have been taken from pigs, meaning that many brands of marshmallows are not halal or kosher). In addition, gelatin has been reported to transmit bovine spongiform encephalopathy — Mad Cow Disease).

Fortunately, there’s more than one way to make a marshmallow than with artificial colors and animal-based ingredients. Inhabitots has instructions for making vegan and organic Peeps, using agar agar (red algae flakes) instead of the gelatin.

Or, you could make vegan marshmallows (this site has a number of recipes) and substitute them in these recipes for DIY Peeps (one has instructions for using a pastry bag to get the proper chick-shape and another suggests using cookie cutters). You can leave your creations white or color them in non-neon shades with organic food coloring.

Most commercial Easter candy comes wrapped in as much plastic packaging as electronic devices. So piping your own Peeps enables you to cut down on this and avoid adding to the amount of plastic waste from discarded Easter baskets and plastic Easter eggs.

With all this said, is it really worth it to make meat-free imitation candy? People have of course been celebrating a Peeps-free Easter for ages. Perhaps we don’t need a vegan alternative or equivalent for something, but would do as well to seek out other Easter treats not derived from animals. Here are some†suggestions to†have an ethical Easter. You can also make sure to avoid†Easter eggs made with palm oil and even have a dairy-free, egg-free Easter egg hunt.

Easter, whether and however you celebrate it, doesn’t have to be Peeps- or treats-free, unless you’d prefer it that way.


Related Care2 Coverage

Donít Adopt a Rabbit or Chick for Easter

5 Ways To Have a Plastic-Free, Egg-Free Easter Egg Hunt

10 Ways to Use Peeps This Spring

Read more: , , , , , ,

Photo from Thinkstock

have you shared this story yet?

some of the best people we know are doing it


+ add your own
7:49AM PDT on Apr 7, 2013

WTF? Just another way for a company to charge more for basically the same thing. It's a way for companies to take advantage of the gullible consumer. I'll stick with the regular peeps... MMM so nice and marshmallowy : )

9:44PM PDT on Apr 5, 2013

Cool idea

5:17AM PDT on Apr 4, 2013


4:40AM PDT on Apr 3, 2013

thanks for sharing, VEGANS ROCK

12:51AM PDT on Apr 3, 2013

Oh, and the late nite talk show hosts are having a field day with these things............even shooting them out of paintball guns as "ammo".

12:50AM PDT on Apr 3, 2013

Good info, Dale. I quite agree. I wonder why all these self-respecting vegans just don't realize that there really is no such thing as a completely animal-free diet or even an animal-free way of living. Why do they have to INVENT imitations that look like animal products? Do they envy those that haven't succumbed to the "mantra" and propaganda of being vegan so much that they have to pretend?

10:38PM PDT on Apr 2, 2013


5:36PM PDT on Apr 2, 2013

Yay everything vegan!

11:21AM PDT on Apr 2, 2013

I wish these were on the shelves everywhere alongside the regular ones. Peeps are cute, and a fun treat for the children. I personally wouldn't deny these to kids, but it would be even nicer if cruelty wasn't involved in the manufacture of them. Young children don't yet understand where meat and animal products come from. I wish we didn't have to shield them from this. Sigh...

8:51AM PDT on Apr 2, 2013

LLOYD H does make a valid point, and then…why is there vegan 'chicken' or vegan 'burgers' or mock vegan ‘meat’ foods when one could go for imaginative name changes. Matt P, life is full of intriguing conflicts...who knew? These conflicts do make for fascinating psychological studies however. Yes, Matt P…riddle me this… if vegans don’t want to eat meat then why this? “…vegan meat alternative looks like meat…the taste, texture and nutrition meat lovers want…” They are calling it ‘ground pork’, etc., yet it is not real pork as it is vegan. Why not invent an entire new name for this, say Utopian ground soy? Just wondering as you were responding LLOYD H’s valid point. Dissing him were you? Dissonance …dissidence… dissident. Since Matt P brought this up…

add your comment

Disclaimer: The views expressed above are solely those of the author and may not reflect those of
Care2, Inc., its employees or advertisers.

ads keep care2 free

meet our writers

Kristina Chew Kristina Chew teaches ancient Greek, Latin and Classics at Saint Peter's University in New Jersey.... more
Story idea? Want to blog? Contact the editors!

more from causes

Select names from your address book   |   Help

We hate spam. We do not sell or share the email addresses you provide.