The Four Aspects of True Love

Love is one of the most confusing of feelings. What some people call “love” may be possessiveness, or simple desire, or some other lesser emotion.

According to Buddhism, there are four elements of true love. Read what this wise teacher has to say, and find out if what you feel is true love, here:

Here are the four aspects of true love.

1. Loving-kindness. Loving-kindness is not only the desire to make someone happy, to bring joy to a beloved person, it is the ability to bring joy and happiness to the person you love, because even if your intention is to love this person, your love might make him or her suffer. To be able to give happiness and joy, you must practice deep looking toward the person you love. Because if you do not understand this person, you cannot love properly.

2. Compassion. This is not only the desire to ease the pain of another person, but the ability to do so. You must practice deep looking in order to gain a good understanding of the nature of the suffering of this person, in order to be able to help him or her to change.

3. Joy If there is no joy in love, it is not true love. If you are suffering all the time, if you cry all the time, and if you make the person you love cry, this is not really love–it is even the opposite. If there is no joy in your love, you can be sure that it is not true love.

4. Freedom. In true love, you attain freedom. When you love, you bring freedom to the person you love. If the opposite is true, it is not true love. You must love in such a way that the person you love feels free, not only outside but also inside. “Dear one, do you have enough space in your heart and all around you?” This is an intelligent question for testing whether your love is something real.

Adapted from True Love, by Thich Nhat Hanh (Shambhala, 1997). Copyright (c) 1997 by Thich Nhat Hanh. Reprinted by permission of Shambhala.
Adapted from True Love, by Thich Nhat Hanh (Shambhala, 1997).


Ebrahim E.
Ebrahim E4 years ago

As we are human, we do make mistakes, so love can be gradtually grow up when both parties forgive the the other for simple mistakes, and discuss
any major big mistakes and let the life continue. Love should not depends on money or other benefits. It should depends on morals, respects, and the main goal which both do agree on such as forming good family.


Sae to
Sae to4 years ago

I Shared on my facebook

Sae to
Sae to4 years ago

I would love to read more about this

Brigitta Rica S.
Brigitta S4 years ago

This article describe Agape love..

For as they say there are three kinds of love, Eros (romantic/passionate), Philos (friendship.association) and Agape (unconditional love). I say we could feel all three at the same time with your spouse, the latter two with friends and the Agape one with others....

Duane B.
.4 years ago

Thank you for sharing.

Bmr Reddy
Ramu Reddy5 years ago

Thanks for the article Annie

Fiona T.
Past Member 5 years ago

Let's soak in love

Patricia H.
Patricia H.5 years ago

thanks for sharing

Teresa Wlosowicz
Teresa W5 years ago

Charli, what you are saying is, unfortunately, nonsense, because love doesn't exist. By contrast, Debra is right.

Debra Griffin
Missy G5 years ago

Is there such a thing???