The 4 Essential Bones

Indigenous peoples say that in order to return to our true nature, we must befriend four essential symbolic bones in our body. All four bones are needed to fully develop our character, dispel cynicism, and cultivate wisdom as we age.

Which of these four bones, with its essential character and qualities, needs strengthening or realignment?

Backbone: The quality of courage, to stand by oneís heart or core.

Wishbone: The quality of hope, to stay open to dreams, blessings, and possibilities.

Funny bone: The quality of humor, to foster joy and maintain flexibility.

Hollow bone : The quality of trust, to maintain openness, curiosity, and faith.

Adapted from The Second Half of Life by Angeles Arrien (Sounds True, 2005). Copyright (c) 2005 by Angeles Arrien. Reprinted by permission of Sounds True.
Adapted from The Second Half of Life by Angeles Arrien (Sounds True, 2005).


Danuta Watola
Danuta W5 years ago

Thanks for the information.

Kath R.
Kath P5 years ago

Never heard of the hollow bone

J.L. A.
JL A5 years ago


Duane B.
.5 years ago

Well, those certainly weren't the bones I was expecting! ;-)

J.L. A.
JL A5 years ago

nice reminders of life essentials

Dale Overall

Delightful, we need not be serious all of the time, what fun!

Margaret F.
Marge F5 years ago

Thank-you for the wonderful post. Nice that it wasn't a medical based one, rather one that provided food for thought.

Anastasia J.
Anastasia J5 years ago

Yeah, not the type of article I was expecting.

Rudolf Affolter
Past Member 5 years ago

Interesting reading, though I do not accept the spiritual connection. I was expecting a genuinely medical article.

Robert O.
Robert O5 years ago

Thanks Annie. :)