What Can Chakras Teach You About Your Health?

The chakras are†among the many energy systems that influence your physical body. While western medicine would have you believe that no such thing exists, many ancient cultures have worked with the chakras and other energy systems for millennia.

Practitioners know that an imbalance in one of your seven chakras can manifest at first as vague symptoms and eventually lead to specific diseases or illnesses. When the energies of a specific chakra are out of balance, either diminished/underactive or increased/overactive, then over time that imbalance begins to manifest in your physical tissue, and you develop symptoms.

What Can Chakras Teach You About Your Health?

Chakras and Your Health

Let’s review each of the chakras and what you might expect from each one. Chakras affect your physical†health and your psychological/mental/emotional†health (which will be grouped into one category).

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The color is red. It’s located at the base of your spine near your tailbone. It’s most often associated with security, finances, and survival. If you think about Maslow’s hierarchy of needs, basic needs are at the bottom. That’s the case with the root chakra as well. Think: survival. Food, water, shelter.

Psychological manifestations: If your root chakra is overactive you may experience, anxiety, depression, lack of confidence,and phobias. If it’s underactive, you may experience feeling ungrounded, spacey, not connected to life and a “head in the clouds” feeling.

Physical manifestations: Most physical problems appear due to overactivity. You might experience low back pain, ovarian cysts, prostate issues, hip pain, sciatica, diarrhea, constipation, and water retention.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

The color is orange. It’s located at the base of the spine, above the root chakra, over the sacrum. Or, two inches below the belly button, between the hip bones. It’s related to sexual health, creativity, energy, playfulness, and relationships with others.

Psychological manifestations: Addiction, low self-confidence and self-esteem, and unbalanced emotions.

Physical manifestations: Eating disorders (too much or too little); low libido; problems with your menstrual cycle and other gynecological problems; hormone imbalances; urinary problems like UTIs and kidney issues; problems with the intestines, gallbladder, and spleen. You may also have chronic low back pain with this chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The color is yellow. It’s located at the diaphragm and stomach area. This is the seat of your personal power, instincts, gut feelings, sense of self and identity, and inner strength.

Psychological manifestations: Poor memory and concentration, lack of self-confidence and self-esteem, powerlessness, feeling out of control, fear and sugar addiction.

Physical manifestations: Stress-related skin conditions, allergies, eczema, acne, digestive disorders, obesity, poor metabolism and difficulty sleeping.

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The color is green. It’s in the same area as your actual heart, in the center of your chest. Your heart chakra is the center of all the chakras. It balances your spirit with your physical reality, and it’s connected to love, compassion, empathy, beauty, trust, forgiveness and relationships.

Psychological manifestations: Apathy; problems with commitment to self, to partners, and to life in general; hopelessness; lack of faith; distrustful of self and others; and unattached.

Physical manifestations: Think lung and breast problems like pneumonia, bronchitis, asthma, breast cancer, upper back, arm, and shoulder pain or heartburn. You may even be familiar with the story of “dying from a broken heart,” which is the collapse of this vital energy center.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The color is blue. The throat chakra is home your communication center. It’s your speaking box. It’s the center for expression, leadership, responsibility, and even freedom.

Psychological manifestations: Feeling isolated and lonely, anxiety, fear, attention deficit disorders, inability to cope with life situations and self-doubt.

Physical manifestations:†In overactivity, you may speak too much, drowning out what others say with the endless drone of your own voice. In underactivity, you may speak too little, finding it difficult to share your truth. Other problems center around the sinus and nasal cavity, sore throat, jaw dysfunction like TMJ, problems with teeth and gums, thyroid dysfunction and swollen tonsils.

Pineal or Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The color is indigo. The third eye chakra is the home of your intuition, perception, psychic abilities, mind, thoughts and dreams. It’s the mental meets psychic plane.

Psychological manifestations: Emotional and mental stagnations, feeling creative blocks, nightmares, clouded judgment, personality disorders, hallucinations and learning difficulties.

Physical manifestations: Headaches, migraines, neurological disorders, eye and ear problems, spinal conditions and hair problems.

Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

The color is violet. The crown chakra is your connection to spirit or the spiritual realm. Here sits your imagination, connection to God (or whatever you may call it), optimism, hope and faith.

Psychological manifestations: Depression and other mental disorders, like schizophrenia and dementia.

Physical manifestations: Epilepsy, headaches, light sensitivity, autoimmune and neurological disorders.

How to Clear and Balance Your Chakras

You can easily balance and clear each of your chakras, although you may feel more relaxed if you have another do it. Here’s how to do it yourself.

  • Lie flat on your bed, couch, or floor.
  • Place the palm of one hand about four inches above the energy center you want to clear. Or, begin at the root chakra. If you want to work with a specific chakra, then do a body scan first to feel into which one needs your attention.
  • Begin by rotating your hand in a counterclockwise direction for one and a half to three minutes. At the end of the time, shake off your hands (to clear your hand of any bad energy removed), and start again but in a clockwise direction for the same amount of time.
  • Repeat as needed or up your chakra system.
  • Note: for men, it’s best to use a clockwise then counterclockwise motion for the crown chakra, per the wisdom of energy medicine healer Donna Eden.

Don’t expect to heal all your health problems in one sitting. If problems manifest in†your physical health, then it means there’s been an energetic imbalance for some time. Always work with your holistic medical practitioners to find the right fit of allopathic and alternative medicine to heal your unique body.

Related at Care2

Image via Getty Images


Jack Y
Jack Y18 days ago


Jack Y
Jack Y18 days ago


John J
John J18 days ago

thanks for sharing

John J
John J18 days ago

thanks for sharing

heather g
heather g2 months ago

Studying Chakras also leads to awareness

sandy Gardner
sandy Gardner2 months ago


Janis K
Janis K2 months ago

Thanks for sharing.

Maria P
Maria P2 months ago

thank you for sharing

Caitlin L
Caitlin L2 months ago

Thank you for sharing

Lesa D
Past Member 2 months ago


thank you Paula...